From a person who loved the landscape and hated the portrait. [Personal Artwork]

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

2017-10-16 11.07.jpg

Before starting, I want to clarify that this has been a difficult process throughout my university career, where I developed a personal work, wrote, again and again, the process I've developed. What I show you next is nothing but my opinion about what the portrait is for me; As a way of looking and looking inside a person, it is not the classic commercial portrait.

FF_Divider_Pink4.png

Portrait

Everything started looking at the sky, I wanted to transmit the sensations that this gave me, always letting the color of the image speak for itself as if it were a person, for me that (the color) and the textures made each characteristic in scene of the sky, to be able to differentiate it from another day. It was not just about looking at the color, but about the contemplation of the sky in its totality as a disconnection with the reality that I currently live.
I did not know in what way I could address this subject, so broad, with only photographs of the sky. I realized that I am more interested in touching the sensitive part, and with this I am directed to something more personal and more intimate, not only related to me but also to the people that live in my life, with the people I portray, with their lives and the conjugation of our lives, because I do not think they are alien to me, or simple models that only made me a favor of posing.

sky.jpg

DQmPJJGyR1ucBDdWWXS3neocDHyikZDWLmDa4EZWKrmVn9n.png

When I started, my first 'official' model was my cousin Julio, who I wrote to him one afternoon to know if he wanted to be photographed, he was impressed and said he did not know how to model, that's when I told him that they would be totally spontaneous photos, I did not have any kind of pose in mind but I did plan what clothes I wanted him to wear. In this first approach to the portrait at this time of my life was strange, my cousin was quite static, the lens completely paralyzed him, despite this I was able to select some photographs that I liked.

juliyo.jpg

Julio is a web programmer, he does not belong to the artistic field or anything that resembles him and I think that this has a great influence on our relationship at the moment of being portrayed.

DQmPJJGyR1ucBDdWWXS3neocDHyikZDWLmDa4EZWKrmVn9n.png

The second experience I had was very different from the first, I asked a friend I met at the university, his name is David, he also studied photography and his personal work is self-portrait, I think that made a big difference, I had some ideas of what I wanted to do and he simply reinforced them with his personality, his personality led me to make those photographs, the truth could not predict that those portraits would be that way.

David, on the other hand, taught me that every man has a feminine and delicate side, because even a person who wears a very hard shell can also break.

DQmPJJGyR1ucBDdWWXS3neocDHyikZDWLmDa4EZWKrmVn9n.png

My next experiences were getting better, portraying people based on their personality is what I liked the most, much earlier I came to make portraits but they did not make me feel like I did in these months. It is simply inexplicable the experience and the feeling that allows me to make these photographs, to feel totally satisfied, to look at them and see something that I did not know I could do.
The best advice I could take into account of great portraitists was to relate to people and bring their reality to the fore. This makes a difference in the relationship between a photographer and the person you want to portray.

angelik.jpg

Rosangelica loves nature, and always shows in forests and parks. This was one of the best experiences prior to photography. I spent a whole day with her in her house and we went from barely to talk to tell almost our whole life in one night.

DQmPJJGyR1ucBDdWWXS3neocDHyikZDWLmDa4EZWKrmVn9n.png

I would never have imagined that I would dare to do portraits, I preferred to work with objects or landscapes, something that did not require the presence of anyone, for reasons of schedules and availability, just excuses that I told myself, without knowing that everything that involved the Portrait, would not be something completely annoying, I did not consider how important it is to relate to people around me, know their lives, their most personal things, that accept to show me a part of them that is not perceived from outside simply, hear their stories, live a little with their families and something as beautiful as this I was missing.

vikt.jpg

Victor has an affinity with matter and nature, he is a sculptor and visual artist, he is not disgusted by mud or getting dirty with anything, in this series we play with snails on his body and face. He also showed me his delicacy.

DQmPJJGyR1ucBDdWWXS3neocDHyikZDWLmDa4EZWKrmVn9n.png

The portrait has made me a less introverted person, it has opened many more possibilities for me, because it is a different world, where I begin to feel comfortable, because I already know what interests me, and that I can link it to other things so develop other proposals. Thanks to all these experiences I was able to find what I was looking for and it was so difficult to develop it.
I want to make an intimate portrait where I can capture each person, I just sit down to photograph what they teach me of them, after sharing a time, a night or an afternoon, and so the sensations that I wanted to transmit with the sky I started them look for people, their bodies, their physique and their own environment (their houses, gardens, bathrooms, etc).

DQmPJJGyR1ucBDdWWXS3neocDHyikZDWLmDa4EZWKrmVn9n.png

And I cried a lot to get to this point because not only I photograph, I must write and write a lot, face each day with myself -and cry- and I think this is the most difficult thing to study art.


From a person who loved the landscape and hated the portrait, to a person who loves the landscape and loves the portrait even more.


separator-6d350b3c93bc32bc622994e3be068598b5cb27001da0411a890b80caa804ce34.png
Thanks for be here!
You can find me on twitter as @ilhuna_
On Instagram as @ilhuna
And visit my Flickr for watch my photography https://www.flickr.com/photos/ilhunaphoto/

1.png

I don't like adding watermark to my photography because i believe it just make it a product and isn't, if you want to use one of my photographs please contact me first.
©2018 María Zerpa. All rights reserved.

DQmT4gYHi4jcTgu7XFG4viqRhK48zq27q3yLs5a44DX9vL6_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

You took wonderful photos! The story is touching too. There was one stage of my life when I don't want to have any people on a landscape photo. Later I found out that sometimes people can add stories to the landscape and make the memory vivid.

Yes, that's right, thanks for the feedback :) !!

I agree! Wonderful story on your journey. Portraits have always been more intimidating for me as well. And you're right, it's the emotional nature of humans that make this style so powerful. I am inspired to explore this area more in my own work, thank you for sharing! <3

Wow. Look! That's me! xD I love this María :3
Is nice to finally read some of your thoughts :3
love.

I really enjoyed your thought process in the evolution of your focus from landscape (skyscape?) photography toward an enjoyment of portrait photography. It is an interesting distinction you draw between shooting a model and shooting someone you know more personally - it makes sense that this would enable a different connection between subject and photographer, but typically you think of professional portrait photography as being done by a photographer who doesn't necessarily know the subject.

Your first image of Rosangelica with the leaf is so stunning. Really an incredible photograph. Can't wait to read more of your posting! Happy to follow you :)

Much love - Carl "Totally Not A Bot" Gnash / @carlgnash



Click the badge to learn more about
Human Certified Original Works

Is not like that always I know, but I spoke that topic because is the often.

Great photos, I just want wish you all the best with your #Blog
Greetings from @justynatina
IMG_20180122_211015_952.jpg

love the first picture, COVER THAT EYE! Pay homage.

Thanks !!

This post has received a 0.35 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @ilhuna.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54166.76
ETH 2272.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34