Me in Paris: Join me on a journey to the elegant "City of Lights"

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Welcome to Me in Paris.

Me in Paris is a photo journey from my recent trip to Paris that was published on the popular mobile photography site, Hisptography. Taking my mobile street photography to the City of Lights was very exciting. Having been to Paris on a number of occasions, I was familiar with its sweeping avenues and grand architecture, which prompted me to photograph the city in color rather than in my signature black and white. (note: the first 2 photos below are of me, the rest are my published work)

Paris is built with a local limestone known as Lutetian Limestone, or 'Paris Stone'. Its warm cream-grey color has a unique visual appearance and it was my goal to bring this distinctive look out to the fullest. Therefore the photographs are very stylized color-wise. The people of Paris are also quite unique, and combining these two visual factors was of particular importance to me. Paris, after all, is a very fashionable city and I wanted my photographs to reflect that.

Life on the streets of Paris is bustling. Whether it's to partake in the popular Cafe Culture or shop in the varied open markets and elegant stores lining the wide, often cobblestoned avenues, or visiting the famous museums and formal parks, Paris is fully alive. The unique stone used in much of the architecture adds to this liveliness as it seems to illuminate the city, hence its reputation as the City of Lights.

Street photography is so much fun in Paris. From the 17th century onwards much of the city was fashioned with grand buildings - especially during the post 1860 Haussmann era - which gave the French capital its uniform style.

Paris is also known as the City of Love, partly because when you see and experience this beautiful city, it's so easy to fall in love with it!

To view my entire Paris photography series published on Hipstography.com, click here

Hope you enjoyed. Thank you!

To check out my previous posts or to follow me, please click here.

Sort:  

Oh how lovely, I miss fries on butter and champagne <3

Thank you. Yeah, Paris is a visual, and gastronomical feast! <3

Hey there! Thanks very much :)

Stunning photography! I've always wanted to see France. I'm a little afraid I would fall so much in love with it that I would never want to leave.

Hey there! Thanks very much! Oh, you must go....after all, you are the poet! There's so much of everything, it's a feast to the senses, and yes beguiling. So, you are right, it is rather like the sirens calling to Odysseus.
Glad you liked the photos. There are more of my Paris pics on the link for "Hipstography". Please, let me know what you think.... :D

I've heard that in paris you can defend with only English, but if you want to inmerse in other areas speaking a little of French it's a must

Thanks! I'm rather lucky because my husband speaks fluent French and that gives me some leeway. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63402.76
ETH 2554.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66