You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Revealing the secrets behind my work ... Photoshop as art II

in #photography6 years ago

Have you done any darkroom stuff? I went in the "wrong way round" - I had a digital processing background before I even tried stuff in the darkroom, and the level of appreciation you get for Photoshop after having a play in the dark room goes to another level.

More so, looking at some of the photography produced in dark rooms that looks like it should be Photoshopped sets an extraordinary standard to aspire to.

It is almost like looking at old buildings and wondering how they were built without cranes, trucks, and modern power tools.

Sort:  

Yes I have, just like you I went the "wrong way round" as well. I truly have a bunch of respect for all the people who worked (or still work) in the darkroom without any use of digital editing. Me, I just wouldn't be able to only work in darkrooms because I've practically grown up with Photoshop and its advantages.

As you say; the more I work in the dark room, the more I really start to appreciate the advantages of having Photoshop around. It's truly amazing how people were able to produce these kind of almost photoshopped-like images in the darkrooms!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68034.95
ETH 3846.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66