The Frightened | Self Portrait

in #photography6 years ago (edited)


The Frightened.jpg



The Frightened
Self Portrait
2018


August 18, 2018.

For the past couple of weeks, I've been having bad dreams. Bad, bad, bad. Everyone is trying to kill me in my dreams. Every night I have to run in my dreams because I'm always being chased. I don't know why. I didn't do anything wrong to them. One second I'll be there walking on the beach, then the next second a big ship would appear in front of me, trying to kill me. Then later an unknown entity would come running to me, obviously to harm me. Damn. The hell, dudes? What if I get killed in my dreams? Will I still be able to wake up in the real world?

Every night, it gets more intense. 'Til it became sleep paralysis. Not sure why it's happening. Lucky are those people who never experienced being paralyzed or those who experienced it once or twice in their lives. It's terrifying. But lucky for me too cos I've learned how to control it. Like demon, you're not real. :) It could still take a while for me to actually wake up and move. But at least I don't panic now. Big achievement for me.

I thought sleeping is an escape from reality. Ah, guess I was wrong again.


-K.




Sort:  

Sorry you are having such scary dreams! I am usually being chased, but I can't run away fast because my body weirdly loses gravity and my feet start to slide against the floor. Dreams are so crazy!

Beautiful pic btw

You have the same dreams that I have =( sucks doesn't it.
But GORGEOUS picture!!! <3

Yeah, it SUCKS! Hope we bump each other in our dreams so we could run together, like a multiplayer or something. LOL. In that way it would probably be less scary. XD
Thank you!! <3

I like that idea! But maybe together we could turn around and fight, and chase our scaries away. Multiplayer dreaming: I think sleeping would be so much more awesome with that feature. I'd like to upgrade, please. =)

Not sure what will happen if I turn around lol. I don't remember turning around ever. But I for sure have experienced fighting in a dream. It also sucks because my hands feel like jelly when I punch. LOLOL. Perhaps some neuroscientist can invent something that will allow as to multiplayer dream? Nice. :D

I've had the same experience in a dream when I attempt to fight: the feeling that suddenly I have no power. I am sure there is some sort of psychiatric explanation that could get tossed around about what this signifies, not that I'd believe it. But I can't remember ever turning and fighting side by side with someone. I think that might change the game. It might even make the attacker just disappear. Have you ever even seen clearly who it is? Mine is always just this "thing" that is pursuing me constantly from one dream into the next.
Perhaps JK Rowling has the explanation for why our arms go all flibbity =p

Most of the times it's just a "thing".. but one time I looked back and saw myself chasing me. Lol. Very symbolic. Hahaha! Probably that is the reason :P

I hope the dreams get better soon @hiddenblade <3 The picture is great though :-)

You're so sweet, thank you! :D

I got what you need, sis!

You have such beautiful eyes @hiddenblade 🙂
Really nice photography!👍

Sorry to hear you've been having these bad dreams ☹️
Maybe some green tea and relaxing music before bedtime can help you to sleep better

Thank you! Will try that soon. :D

Aw sorry about the bad dreams. I had an extended period of having chase dreams (being chased) and never fun. But damn - another really powerful self portrait. Interesting mix here, your hair and eyes are so beautiful and the red over your mouth is also angry and vulgar. Love - Carl "Totally Not A Bot" Gnash



Click the badge to learn more about
Human Certified Original Works

Dang, how many accounts do you have, Carl? LOL. Yeah, it sucks. I've had it for years now.. Thanks! Trying to mix photography and traditional painting - that is, painting on a paper, scanning it, and editing it onto the photograph. So far, I'm loving it. Thank you humanbot and Carl the alien. :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Your publication is quite interesting and even scary but your picture is great, I love it, I congratulate you.

Amazing self portrait! I love the different tones. Followed :)

Thanks for your photography. I just like photography.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81