Nymph | Self Portrait

in #photography6 years ago (edited)



Nymph.jpg


Nymph
Self Portrait
2013




While walking at the mini forest in the university campus in 2013, I found these dead plant (flowers?) and I thought it still looked pretty even if it was already dead. I took it home and decided to include it in one of my self portraits.



I honestly forgot the original concept of this photograph because, yep, I deleted my accounts and photos on other social media sites without taking down notes on the descriptions. So it's up for you to interpret it. I love the audiences to be engaged with my photographs though.




Nymph BTS LOL.jpg


A little bit about how I took the photograph. lol.
I usually just put the camera on a tripod and put it on self timer for 10 seconds or so - with 9 shots. I usually put a teddy bear or a pillow in front just for me to manually focus the camera. And that photo... I put my phone on a self timer to capture myself putting my camera on a self timer to do a self portrait. :P
And oh! Those black thingy dripping? Those are watercolor.


Sort:  

Hmmm well this just happens to be the portraitcontest theme is if you wanted to change a tag ;)

Thanks for informing me! I joined! LOL


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Powerful...!!!!!
I absolutely love this portrait.@hiddenblade

Ang galing. Nagmomodel ka din? Wala ako masabi. Ang ganda. Huhu

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha model-modelan. Thank you!

Very beautiful colors. I like your self-portraits :*

Thank you! I like your self portraits too, they are powerful!

You hair reminds me of instant noodles. XD

That's what everyone says!

Oh no! I'm beginning to think like everyone else. How pedestrian! Ugh. XD

the portrait of the self portrait is quite interesting..! the portrait is great too! you look really sad though. Maybe you were sad that the flowers were dead... :) Sometimes the beauty and innocence of a dead plant can bring a certain melancholy I think....

I did look sad. Most of my photographs in 2013-2014 were sad. Like my subconscious was showing itself. lol. That time I was also confused about myself - cos I still wasn't diagnosed with PTSD at that time, so I had no idea. And yeah, maybe those dead flowers reminded me of those sad moments. And thank you for appreciating my work!

This post has been upvoted by @photomag and it's curie curation trail after manual review
Please join the community and become a photomag curator in the @c-squared discord server and vote for the @c-squared witness here .

really beutiful portrait, you remind me to one of Brian Froud fairy paintings

I love fairies too! And wow, such an honor that this reminded you of his paintings! He is awesome. Thanks, Rat Queen :D

I actually know the Frouds in person, we've been together as guests in several fantasy conventions... lovely people and talented artists all the family, your photo is perfect your eyes are fae
pd you just made my day hahah calling me that :) hihi

Thats for sure, it is not about description. It is about form, content and energy that make vibrate a string in the viewers mind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81