SUMMER TRIP #5: ZADAR, CroatiasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Satisfied with my introduction to the Croatian coastline thanks to the quaint charm of Pula, I kept going south, with Zadar on my radar (sorry!). 

Pula being on the tip of the Istrian peninsula, it is a bit like a cul-de-sac from which your only way of escape is by the road towards Rijeka, or... through the waters of the Adriatic. After pondering the options, I decided that I had done enough road with the bus for the moment and chose to take a ferry from Pula to Zadar. It would take a similar amount of time, for sensibly the same price. But at least, I would arrive in style in the port of Zadar. 

So, here I am, at 7:00, boarding Jadrolinija's ferry in Pula – this one pulling in a couple of ports of the scattered islands along the way, I arrived around 12.00 in the port of Zadar and immediately set for my hostel. Here is the address if you want to know, I don't usually publicize or comment about the hostels I have been through, but this one really deserves it. 

Zadar is a gem of the Croatian coastline, which is unjustly in the shadow of Split and Dubrovnik. It has a rich history, spanning the Greeks and the Romans, the Venitians, and you can find evidence of these incessant power struggles and influences everywhere in the city. 

The old city is built on a small peninsula which juts like a rectangle in the waters and you can circle it whole in one hour more or less. 

Someone in Pula had told me about a landmark of Zadar about which I had no idea: the sea organ

This is a truly inspiring and exhilarating piece of engineering and art combined. It's basically a set of pipes and tubes built into the steps of the pier. 

                                         

The waves crashing gently into the pier enter the pipes, producing a lovely music which still rings into my ears to this day.  


Right next to it, you'll find another great installation: the Sun Salutation

It does not look like much during the day. Just a couple of Leds panels in the sape of a circle on the floor. But come by night, the whole installation is mesmerizing. 


These are of course the most modern landmarks of Zadar. Looking for the past, you can enjoy the magnificient entrance gate left by the Venitians rulers of the city: 

Or the huge bell tower which dominates the old city center, built in the XIXth century at a corner of the Roman forum, hence the ruins which dot the place:

           

Of course, climbing its stairs is highly recommended to have a proper view of the whole old town:


And of course, Zadar is a perfect launching pad to go discover the islands dotting the horizon. There are constantly boats and ferries to brings tourists and islanders there and back:

Here is above the town of Sali on the island of Dugi Otok. And as you can see below, the water is crystalline:

To be continued
Sort:  

It looks like a beautiful place, thanks for sharing

It truly is! You are welcome!

A beautiful place indeed. Whenever I was told about Croatia it has been outstandingly positive. The sea organ of course impressed me a lot. I've never seen anything like this before. And the images of the sea just make me want to go on holidays again. Thanks for sharing!

Yep, and I already want to go back and explore more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.11
JST 0.027
BTC 65626.89
ETH 3449.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33