SUMMER TRIP #4: PULA, CroatiasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

My visit to Plovdiv done, I came back to Sofia for one last night before to jump into a Ryan Air flight direction... CROATIA! Well... Not exactly. My flight arrived at the Italian airport of Treviso Airport, close to Venice. It was just a matter of taking a shuttle bus and catch a FlixBus... And 5 hours later, I arrived in Pula, at the tip of the Istrian peninsula.

Even if it's only the 7th most populated Croatian city, Pula has a lot of things to offer all kind of tourists.

Thanks to an history which spans milleniums, the town has seen the Greeks, the Romans, the Byzantines, the Venitians, the Austrians etc etc. in control of it, that's why you'll find for example an incredibly well conservated Roman Amphitheater. One of the best I have seen without doubt.

More Roman remains can be seen in the city center, with a really nice Temple of August (below, on the left):

From the ruins of the Venitian fortress, you'll have an exceptional panorama on the harbour and the whole town:

Or onto the Roman Amphitheater too:

Thanks to its situation right on the Adriatic Sea, virtually in front of Venice, Pula has always been a busy port, and the huge cranes are not spoiling at all the panorama, they are an integral part of the view and of the charm and identity of the city itself, especially by night:

I actually already visited Croatia seven years ago, but very quickly. I could see only Zagreb but what I remember the most vividly was the street market other there and Pula has an impressive one also, where vegetable and fruits abound:

Last thing which will without doubt make Pula a top priority on your next holiday list, the closeness of the sea and of beaches. Just jump into a bus and here you go:

The sea is crystalline and totally clean, and it's not only me saying it, it's also all the little creatures coexisting with you on the shore:

However remember to bring good shoes and maybe a mattress because there is not ONE grain of sand around! These shores are made of pure rocks! Which ensures, at least, that the beach won't be swamped by people. So you can have all the privacy you want if you really look for it.

Last but not least, I was able to get a taste of my first Croatian beer, a pleasant discovery!

                                   

However, I'm not sure how I feel about those strange shots and their names ^^ I hope it's not too literal!

                                  

To be continued


Sort:  

it's a beautiful ancient city, great architecture. Looks like you have enjoyed your visit. Thanks and have a nice day!

Yes I did! A really nice intro to the Croatian coastline! I need to come back there to discover more about the Istrian peninsula :)

Hello Friends, How Are You
Thank You Friend nice To Meet You
the Best And amazing.

My Name @kouba01 I Am Coming From Tunisia
I Say Welcome And Happy To You Here #steemit or#eSteem.
Do not Forget Follow Me Also @kouba01 and i will follow you and upvote to you
I would like to express my gratitude

Hello Friends, How Are You
Thank You Friend nice To Meet You
the Best And amazing.

My Name @kouba01 I Am Coming From Tunisia
I Say Welcome And Happy To You Here #steemit or#eSteem.
Do not Forget Follow Me Also @kouba01 and i will follow you and upvote to you
I would like to express my gratitude

great place and yeah beer :D <3

Hello Friends, How Are You
Thank You Friend nice To Meet You
the Best And amazing.

My Name @kouba01 I Am Coming From Tunisia
I Say Welcome And Happy To You Here #steemit or#eSteem.
Do not Forget Follow Me Also @kouba01 and i will follow you and upvote to you
I would like to express my gratitude

That's a straight up mini-Colosseum right there ! Nice ! Also on the funny side :

hahaha :) I bet it's the favourite seaside resort of Romanians on the Adriatic thanks to that!

It's pretty well-known around here :)

Hello Friends, How Are You
Thank You Friend nice To Meet You
the Best And amazing.

My Name @kouba01 I Am Coming From Tunisia
I Say Welcome And Happy To You Here #steemit or#eSteem.
Do not Forget Follow Me Also @kouba01 and i will follow you and upvote to you
I would like to express my gratitude

Hello Friends, How Are You
Thank You Friend nice To Meet You
the Best And amazing.

My Name @kouba01 I Am Coming From Tunisia
I Say Welcome And Happy To You Here #steemit or#eSteem.
Do not Forget Follow Me Also @kouba01 and i will follow you and upvote to you
I would like to express my gratitude

awesomee place.. great photography good work keep it up
following you now and i have upvoted you
follow back and upvote ... :)

Thanks! followed back

Hello Friends, How Are You
Thank You Friend nice To Meet You
the Best And amazing.

My Name @kouba01 I Am Coming From Tunisia
I Say Welcome And Happy To You Here #steemit or#eSteem.
Do not Forget Follow Me Also @kouba01 and i will follow you and upvote to you
I would like to express my gratitude

Hello Friends, How Are You
Thank You Friend nice To Meet You
the Best And amazing.

My Name @kouba01 I Am Coming From Tunisia
I Say Welcome And Happy To You Here #steemit or#eSteem.
Do not Forget Follow Me Also @kouba01 and i will follow you and upvote to you
I would like to express my gratitude

I need to add Croatia to the list. I was going to go to Dubrovnik just to check out where they do King's Landing scenes in Game of Thrones. But it looks like other parts of Croatia are just as beautiful.

Definitely! Next posts will be about Zadar, Sibenik and Split, stay tuned!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65730.77
ETH 3446.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32