You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Military Buildup In My Home Town - Looking Back

It's amazing what all rolls down the train tracks. It looks like they were unloading vehicles in the third photo. And the trucks look like they are getting warmed up in the second photo, with exhaust coming out of their tailpipes. I wonder if it was some National Guard activity. The vintage of the trucks in the second photo look like the 1980s, don't they. Interesting photos! Is anyone trying to convert the old railway into a bike trail?

Sort:  

That's interesting you ask about making a bike trail. Because another abandoned railroad here in my home town was converted to a hiking/biking trail in 1988. It goes 14 miles through woodlands, prairie, and farm ground. I have rode my bike dozens of times up and down that trail. I don't believe there are any plans of making this particular track a nature trail.

It's nice that you have a converted rail trail near you - and you've enjoyed using it. It's better than just an abandoned track that nobody can go on, I think. Enjoy your bike trail!

I also own a quarter-mile-section of abandoned track out in the country, too. It was the Rock Island Line, one of many abandoned railroads in our county.

That is so cool! Is that part of your property with all the fruit trees, or a different area? With such a big and sturdy rock base, strong enough for railroad tracks, that could be a real advantage for some uses. You are a railroad magnate, of sorts, lol! ; )

My fruit trees are at our property in town. But our railroad acreage is full of black berries, mulberries, and gooseberries. I intend to transplant some fruit trees out there soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58110.30
ETH 2687.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30