Military Buildup In My Home Town - Looking BacksteemCreated with Sketch.

A friend and I were looking through hundreds of photographs his grandfather took, primarily here in my small home town.

I understand that Steemit is about sharing our own, original work, and I might catch some heat for using another person's photos, but I felt these deserve a share.

My family and I live in the central part of the United States, far from any major cities. Life here seems fairly safe, as if the conflicts of the world are on another planet. But sometimes evidence of those conflicts reaches our sheltered community, such as when someone we know gets deployed to a hostile region, or in the case of these photos, equipment of war gets transported in.

These photos gave me a slight chill, because I have very rarely seen any military movement here in my lifetime.

Since my friend's grandfather is no longer alive, we do not know an exact date these photos were taken. But we can say it was most likely in the eighties during the Cold War, a period of extreme tension and distrust between the United States and the Soviet Union, or USSR.

The train in the winter scene is on the Milwaukee Railroad, which is no longer in use. The tracks have mostly been removed, leaving only a scar across the landscape of our county.

Most likely, I was a small child at this time, feeling safe and secure in the shelter of our home, just blocks away from where these photos were taken. I was playing with toys while the country was building up for war. That thought resonates with me as I look at the activity depicted here.

I used these photographs with permission, to offer a glimpse into how past world events reached even the safe, small towns of America's Midwest.

Sort:  

Well when bad and disturbing events are fading.

Nice photos. Ive never seen such a thing either.

It's a little disturbing when it's in your home town.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 24. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.12 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 24 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

It's amazing what all rolls down the train tracks. It looks like they were unloading vehicles in the third photo. And the trucks look like they are getting warmed up in the second photo, with exhaust coming out of their tailpipes. I wonder if it was some National Guard activity. The vintage of the trucks in the second photo look like the 1980s, don't they. Interesting photos! Is anyone trying to convert the old railway into a bike trail?

That's interesting you ask about making a bike trail. Because another abandoned railroad here in my home town was converted to a hiking/biking trail in 1988. It goes 14 miles through woodlands, prairie, and farm ground. I have rode my bike dozens of times up and down that trail. I don't believe there are any plans of making this particular track a nature trail.

It's nice that you have a converted rail trail near you - and you've enjoyed using it. It's better than just an abandoned track that nobody can go on, I think. Enjoy your bike trail!

I also own a quarter-mile-section of abandoned track out in the country, too. It was the Rock Island Line, one of many abandoned railroads in our county.

That is so cool! Is that part of your property with all the fruit trees, or a different area? With such a big and sturdy rock base, strong enough for railroad tracks, that could be a real advantage for some uses. You are a railroad magnate, of sorts, lol! ; )

My fruit trees are at our property in town. But our railroad acreage is full of black berries, mulberries, and gooseberries. I intend to transplant some fruit trees out there soon.

It was a good story. Enjoyed. @countryinspired

“Remembering something from the past? you are creating it right now as evidence for who you are now.” ― Frederick Dodson The past is important and what you shared with us is a unique look into our past. Thank you and I hope you will share more if you discover more of our country's past.
By the way thank you so much for giving me a little boost in my wallet. : )

Thanks for your response. I like that quote. I have never heard it before. And thanks for your participation in my comic post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28