You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Seeking Out Australian Native Orchids #33

I guess, with that Horned Orchid, a lot can change in a week! But now you have images of another stage of flowering, lol. I'm waiting until you can ID an orchid right as the greenery is emerging from the leaf litter on the ground, lol. Happy New Year! And I hope you see some surprising new orchids in 2017!

Sort:  

I will be going back to check on the horned orchid.

Some I can identify from leaves only - e.g., bonnet orchid by the leaf shape, one leaf only and its back is a purplish tinge. It has been a learning process - and I am trying to do it without the techncial books. The way they use words makes my eyes glaze over.

haha -- They do that on purpose! Keeps the riff-raff out of their orchids, lol. The mushroom guidebooks I use are the same way. It's a whole other language, alright!

It sure is. I had a go at making it simple for orchids in this post - and by picking a tricky orchid to identify. Ever since then I have found it a little easier to learn what it is they are talking about

https://steemit.com/photography/@carrinm/seeking-out-australian-native-orchids-15-identification

Here is a sample from one site

Inflorescence erect, 15–80 cm long, 2–12-flowered. Sepals 18–25 mm long, green. Labellum 20–35 mm long, 10–15 mm wide, contracted just above the base enclosing the column, then abruptly erect and very broad, deeply concave, forming a hood, surfaces glabrous or the upper surface minutely hairy, green with a few purple spots along the midline but otherwise lilac with conspicuous maroon striations. Column wings not connected behind the anther, with irregularly toothed margins.

http://plantnet.rbgsyd.nsw.gov.au/cgi-bin/NSWfl.pl?page=nswfl&lvl=sp&name=Cryptostylis~erecta

That's some reading for when you can't sleep, lol.

Yup - and that is one describing an orchid I know really well. Saw one today. For one I have not seen I am totally lost.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66217.53
ETH 3316.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70