You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Seeking Out Australian Native Orchids #33

in #photography8 years ago

I will be going back to check on the horned orchid.

Some I can identify from leaves only - e.g., bonnet orchid by the leaf shape, one leaf only and its back is a purplish tinge. It has been a learning process - and I am trying to do it without the techncial books. The way they use words makes my eyes glaze over.

Sort:  

haha -- They do that on purpose! Keeps the riff-raff out of their orchids, lol. The mushroom guidebooks I use are the same way. It's a whole other language, alright!

It sure is. I had a go at making it simple for orchids in this post - and by picking a tricky orchid to identify. Ever since then I have found it a little easier to learn what it is they are talking about

https://steemit.com/photography/@carrinm/seeking-out-australian-native-orchids-15-identification

Here is a sample from one site

Inflorescence erect, 15–80 cm long, 2–12-flowered. Sepals 18–25 mm long, green. Labellum 20–35 mm long, 10–15 mm wide, contracted just above the base enclosing the column, then abruptly erect and very broad, deeply concave, forming a hood, surfaces glabrous or the upper surface minutely hairy, green with a few purple spots along the midline but otherwise lilac with conspicuous maroon striations. Column wings not connected behind the anther, with irregularly toothed margins.

http://plantnet.rbgsyd.nsw.gov.au/cgi-bin/NSWfl.pl?page=nswfl&lvl=sp&name=Cryptostylis~erecta

That's some reading for when you can't sleep, lol.

Yup - and that is one describing an orchid I know really well. Saw one today. For one I have not seen I am totally lost.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53554.32
ETH 2224.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29