Thanksgiving Cactus Houseplant -- How-to and original photossteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

My Thanksgiving Cactus was blooming on Thanksgiving Day. Hurrah! Want to know more about this great houseplant? Come into my post!

DSC03426-1WEB12f25.jpg

Although they don’t look prickly, Thanksgiving Cactus really are members of the big Cactus family. They don't have leaves, but green stems that do all the work of leaves on other plants. Their scientific name is Schlumbergera truncate. I would love to be able to see these in bloom in their native Brazilian coastal rain-forest habitat!

DSC03393WEB744b3.jpg



Thanksgiving Cactus versus Christmas Cactus

My plant may still have a flower or two at Christmas. But that doesn't make it a Christmas cactus. The real Christmas cactus is in the same genus, but is a different species, Schlumbergera russelliana. Here are two ways that you can tell the difference between them:

  1. Flowers on a Thanksgiving cactus have yellow pollen on their anthers. Christmas cacti have pink or purplish pollen.
  2. The green stems on a Thanksgiving cactus are serrated, with little teeth. Christmas cactus stems have rounded edges.

There's also an Easter cactus (Rhipsalidopsis gaertneri) that blooms in the springtime. It's also in the Cactus family, but in a different genus - and is a whole other story, too!

T-daycactus20168df0b.jpg



Care

I am not the best caretaker of houseplants. They have to fend for themselves pretty well. This Thanksgiving cactus is so robust and resilient. I move it outdoors into the shade in May and back into the house in October. I forget to water it - most of the time. So it obviously doesn't need a lot of water - it is a cactus, after all. If I really ignore it, the stems just get thinner and thinner. It recovers within a day or two, though. It's tough!

In their native habitat, they are epiphytes - they live in trees and draw their nutrients from the air and rain water. They prefer mottled light. In the winter, I keep it on a south-facing windowsill. But there's too much light for it there in the summer. The stems will turn yellow if I leave it there.

My Thanksgiving cactus is potted in a simple houseplant mix. It's been in the same pot for years and I have never fertilized it. It sure sounds ignored -- I better give it more care, although it seems pretty happy.

DSC03401-1WEBaeaf1.jpg



Getting Thanksgiving Cactus to Flower

I don't do anything special to get this plant to flower. Long, dark nights trigger the plant to set buds. Our naturally short days here in the northern latitudes of Oregon work just fine. But my yard is dark. If this plant was by a streetlight at night, or if I kept lights on in my house at night, that could keep it from setting on any flowers.

And I keep my house pretty cool - 55-65 degrees F. Supposedly, that's what they like. They are from the mountains, after all. If my house was warmer, they might not bloom so well.

The flowers come off of the mature sections of the stems. So when I pinch it back in the spring, I make sure to leave some stems untouched, so they can bloom in the fall.

It's easy to get more of these Thanksgiving cacti. I just have to break off some of the stem and root it. I'll show you more about that in the spring. In the meantime -- I hope you and yours have a great Thanksgiving!

xtsuDSC00761-1WEBfe6ce.jpg

This was the same plant last Thanksgiving. It's been posted elsewhere before. Let's see if the Cheetah bot can find it!

What Do You Think?

Do you have any Thanksgiving cactus? How about Christmas or Easter cactus? I'd like to hear about your plants, too! I hope you have a great Thanksgiving and a wonderful holiday season!



** Haphazard Homestead **

*** foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land ***

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead - photos and all!

I participate in Operation Translation. All my posts are available for translation under the rules listed on the linked post from @papa-pepper. Logo provided by @oepc85. Post goes 100% to Steem Power! Logo provided by @merej99

logosbc87c.md.jpg

Sort:  

Happy Thanksgiving from our Thanksgiving Cactus to yours! Well, actually, it's my wife's, so I can't really take any of the credit for it flowering, but I certainly do neglect it ;-) They're beautiful plants, always did like them.

Your wife knows what she's doing - that's a beauty! It looks like there are plenty of little buds, too. So you will probably have blossoms for Christmas, too. :D

Nice pics. Happy Thanksgiving!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.62 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 25 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

@haphazard-hstead - Thanks for the education, i always thought there was a difference between Christmas and Thanksgiving Cactus! Happy Holidays!

Glad you enjoyed this post. I think the real Christmas cactus, with the rounded edges on its stems, is less common. I see a lot of people calling the Thanksgiving Cactus a Christmas cactus. I think the stores do that on purpose, because then they can sell the blooming plants before Christmas. Regardless of their names, they are all nice to have around. I hope you get to enjoy some yourself!

Gorgeous photos, and very interesting article about these plants. Always wondered how they know it's Thanksgiving, without a turkey to look at beforehand ( : They are a nice addition to a houseplant collection. Thanks for the post.

Glad you enjoyed it. I guess they are just an appreciative plant -- always thankful of any attention they get. ; )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00