You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 7 World’s Continents Photo Challenge - Australian Monday - the absolute winner takes 150 SBD!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This is my submission supporting the contest. I'm just trying to do my bit. This picture is from Papua New Guinea in the Australian Continent in a remote Island called New Ireland. If you want to read about the context of this pic and see other pictures, I invite you to see my post about it here


This is me with one of my most valuable possessions a Malagan mask. The person next to me is called Ben Sisia, and he is one of the last of the old-time Malagan (local tribe) carvers. Meaning, he carves totems and masks following the Malagan tradition of the Nalik area. This mask is one of the last made in the traditional way that is used in rituals and dances. According to their tradition, this kind of trade can only be passed from father to son. At the time his son didn't want to learn, but recently I read a blog where said that now he's being trained by his father. It is an honour have a piece of art and culture from this tribe.
P7301684.jpg


Sort:  

Thanks ever so much for participating! Another amazing entry from you. Stay tuned for the winner announcement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53