Captured Before It's Gone - Rusty Barn

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

RustyRedBarn.jpg

I'm native to this region...

The Southern Appalachian Mountains of the Eastern United States. I traced my genealogy and found that my ancestors have lived in this region since the 1600s. Same story with my wife, but hers goes back much farther.... her ancestry is Cherokee Indian.
greenacrehome-steemti-bar.png

Understood but Sad

Seeing scenery like this makes sense why our families stayed put and why so many others move to this region. However, in the last 10 years we have had exponential growth in the area which has also changed much about the place. I've seen farms sell and get converted into massive apartment complexes, massive tracts of forest turned into mini-cities of themselves with hundreds extremely high priced homes, and nostalgic local treasures dozed to make way for another generic commercial building or retail store.
greenacrehome-steemti-bar.png

My Tiny Bit

With this in mind, I've tried to consciously capture local scenery or notable structures in my own little effort to preserve them for viewing later. Below is one of such photos. This barn was sitting quietly alongside a dirt road, but dangerously close to a large (new) school. In fact, I parked on the side of the road on school property to get this photo. This isn't very close to my home--about 45 minutes away in a smaller mountain community, so I haven't been back through since then to know if it is still standing. Despite its fate, at least it is preserved here for us all to see.
greenacrehome-steemti-bar.png

Of Interest?

If the interest exists, I will happily share more photos, just let me know in the comments below. Perhaps this can be an ongoing series? If not, that's okay too. I'll still do my thing and snap the photos as I can.


Until next time, thank you for reading. I'll see you in the comments below, and on the next post!

@greenacrehome

Sort:  

Want to Buy This Photo?


All of my photographs are for sale! High resolution digital prints are only 3 STEEM/SBD and are free for personal use. For commercial or other uses, contact me on https://steemit.chat or https://steemitbc.slack.com or leave a reply below. Professional prints are also available. Contact me for details and pricing.


Damn hippies!!

Unsure if the term is correct, but I've heard some locals use "Yuppie" for people who who move in and buy everything making it more expensive for locals and try to make this place like the one they left. :-)

Yuppies don't move to the country.

What you are getting in the Southern Appalachian area is the direct result of Asheville's popularity and cheap vacation land, sold off to unsuspecting northern / California transplants with too much money to burn.

Of course, it could be a little bit of the preppers stuff. American Redoubt set off a land grab in that area.

Muito bom da saudade !!

Google translated that to "Very good, miss you." So... thank you? :-)

Growing up I thought the county I lived in was backwards. There was hardly any growth and nothing to do. Now looking back on it I feel like they had the right idea. The county government was very particular about holding onto local businesses and preserving the history of the area. Even though I don't like a lot of government oversight I wish more local governments looked out for the locals instead of allowing the destruction of local landmarks

So true... seems many nowadays are more than happy to sell out for the potential of growth.

So cool that you managed to trace your ancestry. . . especially for your wife..cherokee Indian ancestry! How different your lives could have been if you were together centuries ago :)

You're not kidding!! I doubt she would have had much interest or (positive) interaction with my Scotch-Irish self. LOL

hahaha you might have been fighting one another and then fell in love ;)

though I'm not sure how you made it to the US lol

That is just absolutely BEAUTIFUL country! My husband is very fond of the Appalachian mountains. I love the old barns and have always wanted to find them to save the wood before they are destroyed for the sake of "progress".

Many here will tear them apart and re-sell the wood, but I'd rather see the barn! :-) If I didn't have a day job that kept me in the office, I'd be one of those who travel around to dismantle then reassemble them. Ahhh... if only!

One can dream though, right?
It seems to be part entrepreneur because you can make a lot of money from that repurposed barn wood - and part labor of love, to give those old beams new life.

Hey there! I just wanted to inform you that your article has been included and linked in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you have the time! Thank you and have a great day!

Sweet! Thanks! Will do right now!

I love images of old barns and buildings. Keep sharing them IF YOU LIKE TO SHARE THEM. Don't worry about us over here. ;)

Man, that is just happening everywhere. We need to stop overpopulating the country side. It's going to disappear so fast. :(

True... so true.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14