Miami Beach and Buildings At Night

in #photography4 years ago

When it got dark, we didn't want to wast time to sit indoors somewhere and most of the evenings we still went to the beach. This time I had decided to take a camera and get some night shots of the beach and nearby buildings.
There was one problem though, I didn't have a tripod with me in the states. I decided to leave that back home because it's heavy and takes off a lot of room in the suitcase. Overall I wouldn't have much use to it in this Florida travel. So I did what I could, I put on the shutter delay mode and used an external shutter button. My camera was on the camera bag which was a highly unstable surface.

With a short lens, I was able to get SOMETHING.
This pic is okay when you watch it on a small screen but if you see it large, it's actually a failed attempt and is blurry.
DSC_0250.jpg

I guess the second one was the most successful shot cause its sharp. I used a shutter speed of 8 seconds.

DSC_0252.jpg

Can you see the high rise buildings in the distances?

DSC_0251.jpg

Next up I decided to do something stupid and I put on the telephoto lens and zoomed it out to the max to get a close-up shot of the high rises you see on the photo above. Even the slightest movement of the camera makes the picture blurry as hell so I did about 10 attempts. Finally, I got a shot that was far from perfect but acceptable. I couldn't do any better taking a 10-second shot, with the focal length set on 300mm on a fucking bag :D

DSC_0362.jpg
Overall 90% of the pictures of this session ended up in the recycle bin. Miami Beach at night is full of long exposure opportunities but never do it without the tripod.




Untitled4.png

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=greddyforce
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=miami-beach-and-buildings-at-night


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63