Analogue Photography

in #photography7 years ago

Hi,
My second Post.
Any analogue photographers here?
Really enjoy shooting film.
What are your favourite films and developers, combinations?
It's my dog on the second picture, labrador retriever.

Medium Format
Portra 160, RB67, 180mm:
CNV0000023.jpg

Cheers!

Same:
CNV000005.jpg

Acros100:
img007.jpg

35mm
Acros 100 (dev.: D76), Nikkormat FTN, Nikkor 50mm 1.4:
AA003.jpg

Same:
AA006.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @grandslam I have upvoted and sent you a tip

I love analog, but prefer digital... It's cheaper and I feel happy with it!

Congratulations @grandslam! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow, nice, doing miracles from regular stuff, that´s a great photographer.

I´ve upvoted you, please consider doing the same with one of my posts :)
https://steemit.com/travel/@hegetiby/travelling-together-2-visiting-tulcea-and-constanta-near-the-black-sea

Thanks a lot! Your post is great, nice information.

Welcome to steemit! Excited to have you here... I hope you find the community as charming as I did when I arrived(:

Thanks! It's wonderful

Big analogue fan here. Been doing it for a couple of years now. Mainly use a Zenza Bronica ETRsi for medium format and a variety of different Contax setups for 35mm. My favourite film currently is Portra 160 or Ilford HP5+, particularly on medium format. For 35mm I've been getting into B&W street photography (mainly using Ilford film) and some experimentation with cross-processing E6 to C41. Been meaning to pick up some more Kodak film, particularly Ektar and Tri-X. Would like to get into developing my own film, but it's a hassle and would currently eat up too much of my already limited time.
Definitely look forward to seeing more of what you do and will follow your posts.
BTW that image of your dog is great, you can almost feel the sun on his face.

Thanks!
That's exactly my problem, to much of a hassle, and it starts getting expensive, if you want to manage the whole process, you need to set up a darkroom to develop your own film (or a dark bag), get an enlarger, enlarger lenses (expensive), chemicals and paper. I've been on and off analogue for a while, recently got a second hand Mamiya RB67 with 180mm lenses (the camera used on the medium format pictures here, including the dog's, thanks), the camera was leaking light, easy fix with foam, the lenses needed a lot of work (more expensive than the lot), ended up selling it for half the price I got it last month and looking for a decent medium format set (Mamiya 7ii is perfect but very expensive...)... I inherited a 60's Nikkormat FTn with the excellent (for black and white) Nikkor 50mm F1.4 (pre-AI) and a Nikon F90 and those are the workhorses for my work.
Portra 160 (in my opinion) is the best negative colour film for almost everything these days, will post more soon, fuji 160 is very good but mostly for portrais, very high saturaion; Ektar 100 is a modern film with very high sharpness but has a very peculiar colour saturation that doesn't work well with portraits. Ilford HP5+ is very similar to Tri-x, while Ilford Delta 100 is pretty similar to T-max 100; For "old style grain" films, hp5, trix or XX (kodak's double x stock film) is a matter of preference, all work great in 35mm street ph. BUT, if you need the highest sharpness you can get, Fuji's Acros 100 makes a 35mm enlargeable to medium format levels, especially developed with Kodak's X-tol (vitamin C based developer aha), competing with digital if using a drum scanner. Zenza and Contax are great machines. BTW, read your post on film ph. and really liked it, thanks for your contributions, I see you're from Germany, I buy all my film on a German site called macodirect, great prices, and I also inherited a Praktica my parents bought new but it's jammed. I'm sad I didn't shoot velvia on the Mamiya, but it's so expensive! Already following @gentbynature
Cheers!

I've been getting back into analogue in quite a big way recently. Sadly lost many of my old negatives when I moved to a new flat. I can highly recommend the Bronica system for medium format. I call it "the poor mans Hasselblad", as the quality is great and it really gives you that feeling. The only thing that really has me dreaming about Hasselblad is the square format. I've really enjoyed shooting HP5, but after while you just feel like you need a change, that's why I want to get some Tri-X to switch things up. The Ektar is obviously unacceptable for portraits, as it pushed the red tones too much. I was hoping to use it for some landscape work. Of course Portra is king for most colour photography, especially portraits. Haven't tried Acros yet, will definitely look out for that one. I didn't know about macodirect. I usually just go to a local store and buy there. While it is more expensive, I feel I need to do all I can to support my local lab, since many have had to close. I am very fortunate, in that my new flat is close to a highly rated lab run by a passionate oldschool film photographer, who does all his own developing. Looking forward to getting my first batch of images back from him.

Nice, post them when you do!

Will do. Went there today and got word that I will be receiving a set of 4 rolls I handed in last week tomorrow. No idea what's on them and had two of them crossed so let's see what the results will be.

I saw your post. Dropped you a message over there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57852.72
ETH 2355.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44