The First Flowers of Spring at Golden Oak Farm

in #photography6 years ago

New North - hellebore, trillium, coltsfoot, lesser celandine, lady's mantle, ferns crop April 2015.jpg

Most springs the first flowers to appear are the hellebore or Christmas Rose. As the huge snowbanks on the north side of the house melt down, the hellebore flowers appear, already open under the snow. The yellow is coltsfoot.

23.Giant.snowdrops.corner.garden.April.03.JPG

Sometimes before that we will see snow drops on the south side of the house, just because the snow melts there first.

East - iris reticulata2 crop Feb. 2018.jpg

In years past I had iris reticulata that flowered in the South garden in January. When we stopped using the wood stove in the cellar, it died away. I planted more last year, and we’ve again started burning the wood stove in the cellar and this little beauty was up the 3rd week of February in the East garden.

27.South - Purple jumbo crocus5 March 2013.jpg

These Jumbo Dutch crocus are usually the next to appear in the South garden. They are in the lily of the valley bed.

1.South - chiondoxa sardensis crop March 2016.jpg
Chiondoxa sardensis

4.South garden Chiondoxa luciliea March 06.jpg
Chiondoxa luciliae

South - chiodoxa forbesii crop March 2018.jpg
Chiondoxa forbesii

The Chiondoxas come up next. The luciliae were planted in the South garden in the mid 1980’s. At some point the sardensis appeared and last year I planted a bunch of the forbesii in the South and East gardens.

East garden Puschkinia2 crop March 06.jpg
Puschkinia scilloides along side the steps

The puschkinias used to come up earlier back when there was a door and steps on the south side of the house. They had been planted along the side of the steps. They come up a bit later now they don’t have the protection.

7.East.shed.garden.snow.crocus.March 06.jpg

The hardy snow crocus in the East Shed garden appear in March. I used to have white ones also, but they are gone now.

8.East.shed.crocus1.April.05.jpg
White snow crocus from years past

9.East Shed - scillas April 2006.jpg
Scilla siberica, Siberian Squill

10.East - lungwort, bleeding heart April 2006.jpg
Lungwort with its 2 color flowers

Lungwort has leaves all winter and starts to flower in late March or early April.

4.South.herb.garden.yellow.violets.April.04.jpg
Yellow dogtooth violet in the south herb garden

This violet came in with a transplanted magnolia tree.

22.East Shed - freckles violets crop May 2015.jpg
Freckles Violets

25.Old North Garden - Sylvia violet2 May 2006.jpg
Sylvia violet, a pink violet

New North Garden - Newfoundland violet, red trillium, leopard's bane crop May 2006.jpg
Newfoundland violet, a tiny trailing/vining violet

I have many different types of violets here on the farm.

5.Third Section - jonquil, yellow-orange striped cup April 2013.jpg

Over the decades I have put in many, many different types of jonquils and daffodils. Narcissus does best here.

21.West maple with tulips and dianthus May 2006.jpg
West maple

I have planted many, many tulips but they are short lived. The only ones that are still around are the ones under the west maple and the catalpa tree.

6.Catalpa - tulips crop April 2017.jpg
Catalpa

10.South - tulips crop April 2017.jpg

Three years ago I planted these orange tulips in the South garden. They have done well there so far.

13.Old North - Bloodroot crop April 2017.jpg
Bloodroot

I found this along side a road decades ago and planted it in the Old North garden. It has done very well there.

So these are the early spring flowers many of which we have already seen or are seeing now.

Sort:  

Happy Monday! This comment is to inform you that your article has been linked and featured in the most recent Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Thank you and have a great day! P.S. I just sent your Recommendation Reward so you should see it in your wallet! Thanks again!

Thank you ! I really appreciate the support!

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Love the lungwort! I have most of what you have this time of year (but no blooming violets yet), but you are smart to have everything tagged! me...not so smart ;0) or, just a bit lazy ;0)

With the memory issues, if it's not written down.... I also made maps I can refer to. I'm glad I did, because all the notes and stuff has come in real handy for making posts.

Love seeing your gardens. Definitely my favorite part of the year going out and finding new surprises. I love your Lenten Rose. I have one that was gifted last year and it is doing so well. Your snow drops are so pretty. I haven't seen any of those around here for sale but if I do I would like to have some.

Too bad we are so far apart. I have zillions I'd be glad to give away!

Wow, I can't get over that the hellebore opens under the snow! I especially love the crocus and bloodroot. So beautiful!

Yes, it's a treat to have the high snow bank recede and find flowers in full bloom. :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66739.81
ETH 3087.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73