You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Photo Essay | About the purpose and beauty of a photograph

hey, @soyrosa.

Photography is definitely a tricky thing. I like how you differentiate between images everyone can do and those that take a special eye to see. There are definitely some people who can do that still.

Unfortunately, with as ubiquitous that cameras are on phones, it becomes less about the quality of the photo or the angle it's taken from as it does about the moment. Blurry, overexposed, dark, it all seems to show up and act as a marker for some experience.

When I would take some kind of sports photo for my newspaper, I had the advantage of being on the sidelines and usually within a couple dozen yards, of the play. No one else other than another sports photographer had the angles I had, or the equipment to capture movement in small high school stadium lighting. Even so, I can't say they came out all that great as often as I would have liked, but usually there would be two or three out of dozens that would help tell the tale.

I think I miss that aspect of photography the most—being able to present the story in a way no one else could, or to do it in the best possible way. So, I think I know what you're talking about here, and I have to agree. Photography should be about more than just the obvious. :)

Sort:  

Hey @glenalbrethsen!

Indeed, not all pictures can be classified the same :-) So you did some sports photography! I think that's one I'm not really good at, I just don't have that kind of equipment. I'm a 'professional' photographer in the sense I can make some money with it and have had exhibitions, but despite that I love simple tools and not bulky machines around my neck. I also don't mind blurry pics if you can edit them in a way they still tell the story. I have a whole series on Steem that's called 'Taking pictures through dirty train windows' - my way of winking to all the snobby photographers that want ultra-sharp pics with expensive gear - I don't really care and will probably publish a photobook with these 'imperfect' shots in the future :-)

I think I miss that aspect of photography the most—being able to present the story in a way no one else could, or to do it in the best possible way.

Yes! It's the best thing in the world. Would love to see some of your shots if you care to share or did so in the past :-)

I haven't posted any of the sports photos. I'd have to go searching for them, too. I think they're on an external hide drive that has been acting up and not letting me in. I need to see what I can do about that.

However, if I do end up finding and posting them, I'll let you know. I'm not guaranteeing anything great or spectacular, though. :) Just me being able to be in the right place at the right time.

:D Maybe it's fun for you to see them again - maybe not. Don't feel pressured, but I'm always curious to see what others love doing :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60051.08
ETH 2417.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43