Who said you can't take pictures from a moving vehicle?

in #photography6 years ago

Okay, okay, okay, okay, okay. That was me. I thought I knew everything when I was young. Haha. I'm still young, and I still think I know everything. But I was wrong here. About the window and the low light. Moving vehicles are the shit. The trick is not to try to make it look static. And once you accept movement in your picture, the possibilities are endless. Uf. That sounds gigantic.

So. As I had little else to do in the train in Slovakia, I pulled out my camera and started to shoot away. It took a while before I had the flow of having the right settings for the right moment. The the ideal distance of the object from the train varied, and there was often no time to anticipate. I had to improvise. And take many.

Triangles.jpg
This was the first one that turned out well. I call it triangles. Because of the triangles. Note the twisting lines. Did you ever realise that a picture, even if the shutterspeed is a 4000th of a second, could not be taken without the passing of time? That means that every picture movement hidden inside it. These lines make it apparent.

A Nie je moja dom.jpg
Lifetimes pass inside this house. Yet we perceive it in a flash.

A Eftelinghuisjes.jpg
So houses dance inside. We don't genereally see it, but I believe they really do.

A Bobsleigh.jpg
We passed by a bobsleigh lane.

A Countdown.jpg
And this explosive tank.

A Oko okno.jpg
It started to get darker.

Okno.jpg
The sun played tricks. The camera helped by zooming in.

Chimney.jpg
We stood still. But how still can one really stand? I for one am not very good at it.

Electricky poles.jpg
Once we were back on track, we passed some vibrant electricity poles.

Okna.jpg
The sun set deeper.

Okna dve.jpg
But we kept moving.

Zlty.jpg
Onwards. Into the dark.

Religion.jpg
Where the light of the train demanded some attention.

Povazska Bysko.jpg
A station came. Went. Came back. And went again. And then it came back again. As if there was no coming or going.

Lights.jpg
We slowly moved along.

Lines.jpg
There were lines on our way.

Auror.jpg
Zelene Most - Cierny.jpg
And then I noticed the northern light. It had taken a journey to the south. One cannot and should not deny it its rights.

Cicles.jpg
More lines came. And turned the tide.

When they passed, I found out that the train's inner and outer worlds are sometimes almost equally bright

Zelene Mestiencky.jpg

Not always, though.
Reflection longlines.jpg

Vlak Bordeaux.jpg
And colours are dynamic.

True detective.jpg
The train's speed decreased. We arrived.

My girlfriends brother and she came to pick me up by car.
Na auto.jpg

Vlak do noc.jpg
Another train passed by.

Domov.jpg
And here we were. At home. Final stop for now.

But once a prejudice is killed, a once locked up spirit feels alive again. So here's a few more moving shots of the week that followed.

Spiegel.jpg
Lakelife.

8 Scaffolding.jpg
Scaffolding is my new best friend.

15 Fabricky.jpg
More triangles.

16 Construcie.jpg

18 D'aleko.jpg

4 Farby.jpg
Some trains in Slovakia are this blue. I advised them to go see a shrink, but they didn't listen.

May you have a good night. Or week. Or rest of your life. May it be good. I know that's off topic, but topics are by far not as sacred as life. And weeks. And nights.

Sort:  

Congratulations @gilleshavik! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60314.14
ETH 2890.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35