Astrophotography: Volume One (All Original Work)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Being a keen amateur photographer, I’ve always been looking for ways to push my “limits’ in terms of subject matter. And one of the areas that has long been on my "must try" list was astrophotography. There's just something strangely satisfying about being out of the city, staring at the sky and stars, all while capturing it to show later. Anyway, I digress. Back to the actual process, which I want to do a full write up about soon...these are just some previews to showcase.

For this task at hand, I would require a different, specialized lens, since nothing in my current arsenal would fit the bill. I decided to purchase the amazing Rokinon 24mm f1.4 lens, which you can buy here. It's not a referral link, so I won't get any commission or money from a sale...just helping out. What this piece of magical engineering does is allow you to shoot in pitch darkness, and still get some amazing photos - thanks to that f1.4 rating.

Unfortunately, I live in a big city, and light pollution is rife. In order to get any sorts of "decent" photos, I have to venture a few hours away, which takes time and effort (and also wait for perfect weather conditions). I still haven't quite cracked the perfect settings and angles for these types of star photos, but with some practice and a few more trips out, I'm sure it will get better.

As mentioned above, I'm hoping to do a full write up soon about this process, and the best settings for your camera, websites to use for research etc. 

Equipment used

  • Canon 6D
  • Rokinon 24mm f1.4
  • Lightroom CC for edits

All photos are my own original work, and unique to Steemit.

Sort:  

Amazing work. but please make it bigger with more picture. It will bring you some very big rewards :)

Thanks @rifkan. I'll be posting a more in-depth article soon with lots of extra photos - this was just a way to test interest :) Stay tuned for the full version!

I assure, that will bring you more rewards.

Awesome shots there mate, I also do night pics of the Milky way and if possible the Southern Aurora (haven't cracked the perfect night yet). Keep an eye on my blog as I'll be posting some star pics soon

Thanks @nitroaus. Very jealous that you have the opportunity to do some southern aurora shots, have been hoping to do a trip to Norway sometime to see the northern ones for myself.

This is insane. Wow. I’m so in awe!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97