Mary Mary quite contrary...how did your Rhodies grow?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago

IMG_1225.JPG

THe Rhododendrons have all past by now around here, but I have to say, I've never seen more glorious rhodies EVERYWHERE! Mild winter? Wet spring? I"m really not sure but the purple "Roseum" Rhododendrons were stellar.

My own rhodies I planted about 7 years ago. I got 5 of them to fill in the back corner of my backyard. I got them from Home Depot in the fall, so they were very cheap. I would not recommend to anyone to buy their plants at HOme Depot, but a bargain's a bargain! I figured if they didn't make it, I would be okay with that. But here we are, 7 years later and they have grown and flourished with a really great show this year.

Here is a bit of the progression:

MAY 11, 2019
IMG_1194.jpg

MAY 18, 2019
IMG_1205.JPG

MAY 22, 2019
IMG_1224.JPG

FOr good measure...here were the azaleas by my stream- always a pleasure....
IMG_1209.JPG

Happy gardening everyone!l Enjoy!
@gardenlady

Sort:  

It's funny how here, coastal MA, we must be a bit behind you. Our Rhodies are still going strong, though my azaelas out front are just beginning to shed their flowers but our giant rhodies are still blazing away! I love this time of year!

I'm heading up to Mass and Maine in a few weeks- can't wait to re-live some of the flowering that we've already gone through here in NJ!

Beautiful progression!

Spring time at its best looking at that over the time it looks spectacular

I love the the anticipation

Oh, so lovely! Ours did well here, and we'd see some around when out driving. Not one of the more spectacular years though.

Rhododendron at barn crop April 2019.jpg

There's 2 of these at the barn. They were wedding presents. This one does well, because it's protected a bit from the snow off the roof. The other one has a much rougher time on the other side of the far shelter but has hung in there.

I love that they were a wedding present!!

@gardenlady You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

They are beautiful. Deer did some nasty damage to my one rhododendron but it did produce nice flowers on the top and the sides are putting out new leaves.
https://steemit.com/nature/@manorvillemike/deer-destruction

A bit of nature's pruning...

Great overview @gardenlady and these flowers look very beautiful in your cozy garden!

thanks serkagan!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00