Nigella damascena (previously just "Flower")

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Nigella damascena
The star of the garden.

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Sigma ART 50mm ƒ/1.4
Aperture: ƒ/3.5
Exposure: 1/125 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200

Simple and beautiful.

Edit: Thanks to @stresskiller we now know the name of the flower that previously was just a flower. :)


[Previous post: One photo every day: Lightning (48/365)]


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer

Sort:  

another poisonous plant ? .... not going to drink tea from that :)

Good thing you mentioned that, I missed it entirely when going through the wikipedia page @stresskiller linked. You are right, this one is poisonous, better not make tea out of it. But if you like spices, its relative Nigella sativa has seeds that make a fine spice and seem to have positive health effects as well, lowering cholesterol and blood pressure. :)

Do you think quality of camera makes a difference in amout of money per post?
I have access to a insane nice camera with like 800 dollar lenses but I never thought it would make a difference.
O.o
Should I start using it for random picts or will it not really make a difference?

Nope. I don't see a negligible difference between what I get from my mobile shots and the DSLR.

But I suggest you try it out. Also imperative you learn the basics if you haven't already. A good camera rarely makes a good photographer. Mine is already old, but that just means I've had some time to practice.

Getting out of auto is a good thing to learn, and using RAW is basically the norm when moving into DSLR photography.


Most of the things in photography I've learned, I learned from this guy above.

...and this guy:

My photography teacher

kool ill check out the vid.
I might give it a try and see if it makes a difference.
:D

This flower is very beautiful, the color is brilliant I really like it..flower that looks like a star
Whether the flower is in the home garden or be somewhere else, This is a good post and should be in response by steemians. Maybe i should get a beautiful flower for the post Because it will help the account increase more if you get a good interest in each post

Great photo, mate, I like how the flower is situated right in the middle of the shot! Very minimalistic but very nice as well :) Have a great Monday, Jaro!

Yeah, explicitly against the golden rule or rule of thirds. ;)

My monday started very slowly, almost couldn't get up from the hibernation I was in. The good thing is I'm alone. I have the day all for myself now.

Lazy Monday hehe! You don't work today? We have Queen Mother's Day in Thailand, so many companies are closed, so are the schools:) How is the weather this summer in Finland? I heard it's anomaly hot in many European countries?

Yep, pretty lazy I think. I even forgot I had a meeting today. ;) Thought I was free. Well then I was. The meeting has been moved for tomorrow.

Queen Mary's day? Sounds interesting. Do the Thai have a Queen? Look, I'm so immature I'm not even Googling when I can ask. ;)

The weather is very sunny today. It's actually quite warm now so I guess the summer is not about to end right away. I'm thinking of getting the camera and go out for a shoot, if I have the time, but I should probably fetch my kids from school in about a half an hour anyway, so maybe not.

King Rama 9 left us last year at the age of 89, but Queen Sirikit celebrated her 85th birthday 2 days ago. It's also considered to be Thailand's Mothers day, same as King's birthday is Fathers Day:) I remember it was around 20-22C when I visited Finland 15 years ago in August-September and I really enjoyed the weather:)

it really looks star of garden

found it :) Nigella damascena , now you now the name of the flower :)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nigella_damascena

Thanks, I added the info. :)

Wow, lovely photo shot.

Awesome! How are you liking those sigma arts?

Perhaps the sharpest lens I've ever used, well worth the money spent. But there is still a lens I have I love more than the Sigma.

I've been wanting to try the sigma arts for a while now. Which lens is the one you love even more??

It's a forty year old kit lense, Super Carenar 135 mm 2.8.

I'll be posting some photos taken with it soon.

Ah yes, some older lenses might not be clinically perfect, but they make it up with character. We're all so used to seeing perfectly sharp, digital pictures now a days that we long for that analogous imperfection that is full of character. Not to imply your Super Carenar isn't tack-sharp, I've never had the opportunity to shoot with one, just my experience with older lenses. And at 135mm? I bet that lens takes amazing portraits, and has a ton of character in the bokeh.

I shot a project last year that I had to do camera tests with some vintage Nikon lenses. I might shoot one later this year that I'm hoping to use some vintage anamorphic lenses. I'll be doing A LOT of camera tests with those, and super looking forward to it! I'm shooting a small film in the next 2-4 weeks and we're in the process of deciding which lenses to shoot it on. I'm leaning towards cooke. The reason I asked about the sigma arts is because they finally got rehoused into film lenses and definitely look interesting!

So Pretty what a wonderful shot it looks like

Simple, beautiful and blue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22