Autumn Fog (a post with lots of photos)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hi again!

As mentioned in my last OPED post, I spent much of the last morning shooting in the fog. And well... while I claimed I had taken "a couple" of photos, I shot indeed quite a lot. But since there wouldn't be a lot of sense in putting all of them in the same post, I'm making a smaller collection instead.

blues
blues in the air

I found myself in the Vesijärvi small boat harbour along the road that I take my boys to school every day on.

foggy bank
foggy bank without a squatter

The shore was indeed very foggy. And it appears that the squatter had left by the time I took this photo.

bridge
The bridge

While editing these photos, I noticed that when I correct for the white balance, the photos turn almost black and white. I wonder why that is. The blue fog images look nice, as they hold all the colour, but they are still very cold, so I tried to avoid that. After some thought I decided to take out all the colour and make the photo in monochrome. On Flickr you can find a colour copy with some boost on those colours.

bench
the bench

Some photos work a lot better when contrast is pumped up to extremes. I noticed that this bench looks quite interesting if I pull the saturation to the max too. (Although I didn't want to publish it, because it did look very much over processed.

triangle
triangle

some colour
colourful boats

boat park
boat park

The boats are "parked" in between these poles. Not sure what they are called.

bottom
bottom

This one made an interesting photo. I like upside down boats.

someone in the fog
a fellow photographer appears, and disappears in to the fog

I met someone who was also taking photographs of the fog.

Editing-wise, dropping contrast can make the haze even more hazy and dream-like.

twig
Twig

I'm concentrating on details and letting the colours push through the fog.

flower
flower

No, I'm not going to try to find out which flower it is now. I'll ask Vera tomorrow morning. ;)

Oh, then I drove on to the next spot, Pikkuvesku:

park trees
trees in the park

It was awful because I had developed a desperate urge to go somewhere to relieve myself, so I left quite fast, only after having shot one photo.

More driving:

(Btw. I got a copyright claim on my videos, should I not play the radio while recording and driving? It's interesting because on the video I can hardly hear the music, but google has still identified the classical music that was playing on the radio.

The next stop was the Palomäki football training fields, as Vera had some earlier day noticed how the goals looked kind of spooky in the fog. I couldn't find the goals though, as they were taken away for a reason or another. So I photographed the road, the field and the fog of course.

gravel road
foggy dirt road


football field

ditch
ditch

a path
a path

This path became one of my favourite shots. It is a bit mysterious in the fog.

Before going home I had to visit the library, to return the Grid Autosport leaflet Leo had forgot to pack along the game disk when we returned it Yesterday.


Library

I took some photos there. These are two of them.


Library2

Then I left for home.

When home and looking out of the livingroom window, I noticed how colourful the nature had become so I had to shoot one last photograph from our balcony.


Shot from our balcony

It completes the set nicely. Wouldn't you think?

If you managed to follow the post this far, I will congratulate you! And I hope you liked every last bit of it! :)

More photos coming up tomorrow! :)


[Previous post: One photo every day: Fog squat (110/365)]


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


This one is posted as !originalworks

Sort:  

Thank you @gamer00 for this foggy photography essay! This is an eye opener for me. Two days ago, on the train I tried to take photos of early morning fog, but I stopped. I thought that would be silly : who would want to looks at blurry foggy photos! But this post makes it very clear that even foggy dirt road and football field can be interesting!

I have change my view on fog forever!! Many thanks.
Cheers.

@gamer00,
You made all those photography :O That's amazing collection of Autumn photography! A great collection! Thanks for sharing with us!

Cheers~

Many of the above photos were seriously good. Perhaps I should begin to put some more thought into my photos as well. I think I might have accidentally taken a couple of good shots at the harbor and Mukkula manor after our tournament in July.

This is a great collection. How do you cope with the thick foggy everyday?

Awesome photos you got. What camera do you use? And yes you should turn off your radio or when your going to edit it, make sure the sound is off. Amazing shots again. Keep it up :)

My camera is a Canon EOS 550D, a bit older one, but gets the job done. I'm dreaming I could one day upgrade to a 7Dmk2 to get weather proofing. (I like the crop sensor because in nature it gets me a bit closer to the subjects.)

I usually tag every photo with a list similar to this one:

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Sigma ART 50 mm  ƒ/1.4
Aperture: ƒ/2.5
Exposure:  1/200 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200

...but I figured this post had too many photos and it would clutter the post too much so I left them out.

Yes! A 7Dmk2 would be nice. Its too expensive for since im only a student but someday ill buy one. Where do you get the tags? I'd love to put them in my photos too. I'll follow you. You seem to have nice blogs/photos. Please look at mine also and considering following. Thank you so much :)

The tag is just a piece of markup called code. You can use it with ` characters around your text, or simply indenting your text by four spaces:

    This text is indented by 4 spaces.

...becomes...

This text is indented by 4 spaces.



And yes, I followed you. :)

Thank you so much for the advice. I already learned a lot from you :)

Gorgeous pictures! My favorite is the one with the bench. I should start taking pictures when there's fog. It really adds to the scenery.

You should, fog can help your creativity as it's a little bit difficult too, but not too hard to figure out. The question "where to focus" isn't as clear cut as in clear weather. :) I noticed some of my shots should have been focused closer just because there's nothing really visible in the fog.

The fog can also do tricks to the lighting. The in-built light meter is often of no use when in a fog.

But other than those, it is very much fun. And the results may positively surprise you.

Brilliant shots!
From the mysterious lake, through the nostalgic bench, where a lot of people were bewitched.

A boat pier combined with a misty lake.

Great pictures of the true autumn in full glory!

WoW!!!!! awesome and surprising gift you gave to us this moment @gamer00. Totally awesome. Thank you And have a nice day...

Amazing photography @gamer00. You got fully effort for take these photos very well under fog condition.
Upvote/ Resteem

Oh! I love every one of these. Great photos...some of the best foggy photos I have ever seen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16