An older shot of mine & A prompt photography lesson.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hey!

Here's a short lesson in photography for you guys! :)

This photo was one of those earlier successful shots taken with my Canon 550D.


It's a rose with berries in the Fall.

Looking at it on retrospect I like how I had learned to separate the subject from the backgroun using a shallow depth of field. The photo also adheres to the rule of thirds, so I must have put some effort into it.

All-in-all it's a nice picture, albeit it doesn't really have a point. It's just a bunch of roseberries after all.

It's technically good, composition, sharpness, lighting etc. but it lacks a story, a feeling or anything that would really make it an exceptional photo.

Anyway, it's nice to see my older photos and give them some whacking, if not for anything else, for the opportunity to study and learn from them.

So, the important question is this:

"If I were to do this shot again, what would I do differently."

For this particular photo it is somewhat difficult to answer. But for an exercise's sake, I would probably add a simple shape in the fore- or background, something that'd "direct" the beholder's eye to make a jump, and then go back to the rose. A short story that only the one watching the photo could read.

So now I'm throwing the ball to You.

If you have taken similar photos in the past, on retrospect, what would you do differently now? (It doesn't have to be flowers only, any subject will do.)

(If you would like to join this exercise, pick an older photo of Yours, and study it, then link it here and tell us what you did right, what it lacks, and what you could do differently with it.)

I would be delighted to see some discussion on this subject. And hey, if you think this was beneficial and want more of this, we can continue with a Part #2 some day. :) So let me know what you think, in the comments below!

Next lesson


[Previous post: One photo every day: Snowfall (160/365)]


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

Its a good shot. Maybe change perspective? Up? Down? Who knows, the good thing is there is no right or wrong!
The other day I did a similar one. I didnt like the background (houses), so I shot it against a foggy sky for contrast in BnW.

P1110699.JPG

Then had to fool around in post.

Seed_Pod__Mono_Threshold__P1110699.JPG

Generally speaking I like this one but it needs to be pulled back so the ducks can be more easily seen and a shorter focus would bring out some detail of the bench.

I'd appreciate some input if you can see where it could have done better.

Loading...

set this shot at an interesting angle

monochrome of it would look even nice

The roseberries look beautiful, and I like the depth of field. I don't know, somehow I like the lighting in this too. If I have the same photo, I probably edit it a bit brighter, but your original one speaks volume already.

Nice photo. This is wonderful anyway, I think you can continue with the part 2 sometime soon and I'll be here watching.....

your photography outstanding.....
I thing you are an awesome photographer....

My friend, @gamer00 Here is a well deserved up-vote for you! I never forget anyone who helps me become stronger and you fed me with 24.55 STEEM and the last time you fed me was 35 days ago. Your effort meets my strength and enables me to help you and your friends even more!

Yours, Spinny

I like very much when everyone who feeds me also reads my friend’s posts, so please visit @buzzbeergeek and read what he has to say! Your name will also appear here. :-) Join my Discord server if you want to meet others: https://discord.gg/Mz2EZP3

Powered by @adsactly.

i am a noob in photography lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58984.04
ETH 2551.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35