Northern Sunset [ My golden hour experience in the Philippines ]

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

"It's all about the light!"

When I was new at learning about photography that statement doesn't make sense to me. Probably, because my understanding of photography is so shallow that I honestly thought that it was about the subject & the camera-gears. Well, it is actually about everything - it's the whole package. But there is one thing that top all elements of a photograph - that is light. Obviously, without it the image will become pitch black, there is nothing to appreciate.

One of my favorite type of light is the softest, warmest, golden light; hence the #goldenhourphotography! These are the basic characteristics of the kind of light that we experience during sunset or dusk, for some it is called "the golden hour".

I usually prefer to shoot the golden hour at the sea shore, for me this where I get a clear view of the sunset. It is also complimented by the water that reflects the source of light and the warm tint on the sky. However, for today I chose to show you a different setting or location. The following images were shot during my road trip to the northern part of the Philippines, specifically along San Juan La Union (the surfing capital of the Philippines).


01.jpg

I'm really impressed by the vivid rays of light that strikes through the formation of clouds above it. It looks like a painting that was manifested by the hand nature!

CategoryGolden Hour photography
CameraSony DSC-RX1r
SettingsISO-50 f/3.5 1/200sec
Lens35mm
LocationSan Juan, La Union PH

02.jpg

This humble looking fuel station might look grungy at day but it transform to a fabulous looking structure during the golden hour.

CategoryGolden Hour photography
CameraSony DSC-RX1r
SettingsISO-160 f/5 1/200sec
Lens35mm
LocationSan Juan, La Union PH

03.jpg

This scene is somebody else's backyard, a bare grassy plot with a bunch of trees. The awesome part of this image is the blue backdrop, splash of warm tint, and puffy looking formation of clouds made this shot extraordinary.

CategoryGolden Hour photography
CameraSony DSC-RX1r
SettingsISO-160 f/5 1/200sec
Lens35mm
LocationSan Juan, La Union PH

It may sound that I'm glorifying these images but I'm not, in fact, if I were to take a look at these views during day time, it will look like a bland looking scene. The soft warm light gave these scenery the flattering appeal that looks pleasing to the eye. So I guess the statement "I'ts all about the light" could make a strong argument that the light itself is the one that impacts the overall outcome of a picture.

So that's about it y Steemit friends, I hope you enjoyed viewing these golden hour shots that I presented to you. Feel free to share your thoughts about the statement, I'm here to listen & converse to a discussion.

Thank you for reading & have a nice day / night everyone!


Cover photo option 3 - resize.jpg


All original photos by author (@funtraveller) using Sony RX1R with 35mm lens

Sort:  

I often find myself hung on gear, thinking about new lenses and such. But you are right it is a combination of everything.

More than anything I think subject matters. In your photos the light is the subject and it works really well. I think the key is using light to highlight the subject, something easier said than done.

In your #mypictureday photos you did an awesome job of using the light to highlight the horse and carriages.

Wow! Best feedback i got today :-) your right about the "light" as the subject in the case of these photos. In my mind, i was thinking that the objects (tangible) are my subjects, the truth is that the light is the emphasis in these photos. Which means the rest of the objects are just supporting elements to my subject.

Im glad to read your thoughts about it, this adds to my learning / understanding about photography. Thanks buddy!

I personally think we photographers get hung up on light because it is so crucial for us. But the average viewer isn't thinking about it the same way.

I always enjoy these conversations :)

That's also true, I myself normally seek a good light instead of a better subject. But if given a chance I would take the best of both. I care more about the light, that's for sure.

By the way, congrats on the Curie! you truly deserve it. I'm happy to have seen it first. hehe

Thanks, I was shocked this morning when I seen all the upvotes. I didn't know what had happened at first. Went back through steemd to find the trail.

Have you ever watched the cheap camera challenges that digital-rev use to do? They would have professional photographers use a cheap camera while doing a photo shoot. I find it fascinating that they always pulled off great shots with those crappy cameras. It really showed that subject and light mattered more than camera and lenses.

I think it's either Carl / Mark is the one responsible for that, they are both Curie curators.

I knew digitalrev (HK youtubers) since 3 yrs ago, i've watched most of their videos but not so much recently. They are one of my bigest influence. I like their style, fun & informative especially their reviews. Hehe. Great you reminded me of them, i might check on their latest videos and see what they have been up to. Thanks!

Carl had commented on my post but I didn't know about curie until you mentioned it and didn't know who he was. Before I responded I had looked at his blog page but don't remember seeing anything about curie.

Kai left digitalrev and started his own channel. It was partly their torture test on the 7d that swayed me towards buying one.

Lovely colours! I really like it :)

Thanks @kinia! Im glad about that :-)

Thank you! :-)

Very nice pictures, thanks for your contribution.

Thanks! Glad you like it too :-)

Glad you like it :-) Thanks!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 16:08:08
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 777.84/800.00
Total Photos: 45
Total comments: 51
Total contest wins: 10
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45