#MyPictureDay at Tanjong Rhu Watch Tower [ Blast from the Past ]

in #photography6 years ago

Dear Steemit Friends!

How's your weekend going? I hope you're all doing fine. I was out last night to explore the Tanjong Rhu area, it was my first time to visit this part of Singapore. I didn't know what to expect and as this was a last minute plan of mine. Earlier before I shot all the photos, it was raining and I'm already thinking to postpone this #mypictureday, thankfully the rain stopped at the right time.

I arrived late at my destination, it was already halfway between 7 & 8 pm, which means there's no time for me to scout for my photography spot. Right at this point, I was scouting while shooting at the same time. I made a lot of impromptu decisions for my photos. I hope you these images my friends, here they are:

DSC00318-1.jpg

The "Watch Tower" or "Lookout Tower" is situated at Tanjung Rhu, which is a former ship building or repair during the 1820's. Now, it was kept standing that serves as a landmark and heritage for the area. Beside it is the new Tanjung Rhu Bridge, it's a modern piece of architecture that connects Tanjung Rhu to the newly built Kallang Stadium.

02.jpg

Beside the Kallang Stadium is the Singapore Sports Hub which can also be access using the new bridge.

03.jpg

04.jpg

View showing the Lookout tower in the foreground while Kallang Stadium at the background

Aside from the lookout tower, I also managed to explore the areas around it, here are some of the photos:

05.jpg

View showing the Lookout tower in the foreground while residential buildings at the background

06.jpg

View showing the Tanjung Rhu bridge in the foreground while Kallang Stadium at the background

07.jpg

View showing the Kallang Stadium and Singapore Sports Hub, side-by-side

The Tanjung Rhu area has a serene environment, which is perfect if you want live a quiet life away from the city. My explore to this place also made me observed the lifestyle of the people staying here, mostly having a good time seating at the grass area and some are going for a jog. If you intend to live here in Singapore, I would suggest this place though most of the residential buildings here are. If you don't the high cost of living then go for this area.


08.jpg

View showing the condominium buildings around the watch tower

09.jpg

Night view showing the lookout tower & jogging path in the foreground

So that's about it my Steemit friends, I hope you enjoy our first time explore here at Tanjung Rhu.

See you until next time!

Cheers!


Cover photo option 3 - resize.jpg


All original photos by author (@funtraveller) using Sony RX1R with 35mm lens

Sort:  

wow! amazing!

Thanks @hiranur! Have a great weekend dear :-)

Best of luck in #mypictureday. As always impressive photos.

Again @timsaid will have some tough choices.

Totally agree with that buddy, ive seen some of the entries and they are really good. Tim will have to make hard choices this time :-)

I like to look through other entries just to see what is out there.

singapore is one of the best country in the world,
you are a good clicker your photography skil is awsome i like this blog,
everybody want to visiting the world but not everyone do this for the many by using steemit i see many nice place of the world
nice post thanks for sharing keep going

Im glad my blog caught your interest :-) steeming is becoming the go-to-site if people want to read nice blogs. Im also meeting nice people like you @sanjida007!

Thanks a lot for dropping-by. See you around :-)

nice pics and a very good story. I really hope to visit there.

Thanks! Glad my post interest you. Have a nive day :-)

Night view with full dark & focusing great job that you've done !

Thanks a lot buddy! Really appreciate your feedback :-)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.08
Server time: 11:42:27
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 836.34/1600.00
Total Photos: 56
Total comments: 51
Total contest wins: 10
And have also received a 1.48 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89