Entry to Dboontje Photo Contest "In search of the perfect photo"

in #photography6 years ago

@dboontje made this photo editing contest link and I thought there were some pretty solid arguments for photo editing, so I thought it would be fun to give it a go..!

So the Theme is Animals and the rules are to post a before and a after editing, with a short description on how and why.

So here we go.
I chose this photo of a wild marmot I took last summer. I am pretty pleased with this photo as it is, but I chose to play with it anyway. Anyway I am most pleased with how close I managed to get to a wild animal and how pretty she is posing in the picture :D

Before

marmot.JPG

I am no big photo editor, but I decided to try anyway! I used Photoshop to edit.
The photo is most definitely taken with the vivid film simulator. I usually like vivid colors, but I actually think they got a bit too aggressive in this one!
So I started with turning down the color saturation a good bit! Then I duplicated the layer and added a High Pass filter on the top one, and changed the occupacity to Soft light.. I remember I learned this technique somewhere down the road, I don't remember by who, but else I am no big connoisseur of photoshop filters! :S
I ended up adding a bit of vignette effect, and that's it..!

After

marmotedit.jpg

I am sure all you profs out there would do much better, but it's fun to try, wouldn't hurt getting a bit better at this stuff, since it's true, that you can actually edit the photo to look more how it was!

Sort:  

Hi @frejafri,

Thanks for you entry! I appreciate the explanation about how and why! I'm still not big fan, but maybe I'm scared to fail or something.
I hope you'll will enter in the next contest as well!

Congratulations @frejafri! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69