Permaculture, a way to secure your existance while fighting climate change

in #photography7 years ago

Outside the permacultural society, many think that a poor soil is a just poor soil (it's what happens, it can't be repaired). The till-fertilize enchanted circle made us believe there's nothing more to agriculture than fields that consist of a singular species, an arsenal of chemicals to make it grow and to kill everything else that lives and machines that turn that plants into food.

Below, my Helianthus tuberosus plant shielding herself from insects with trichomes

cicoka1.JPG

That is probably the reason why as a kid I wrote a comment in my "what do you want to be when you grow up" essay, "I certainly don't want to be an agriculturalist", it always seemed to me as the poorest way of life possible. On the other side, I've always loved nature and wanted to spend as much time as I can with it. Very soon I became to be concerned with this planet's well being. I was very positively surprised when I first heard of permaculture... A myriad of questions arose and spiraled out from this amazement with this unique way of life:

"Can I help the planet with simple dietary changes?"
"Can I grow my food sustainably?"
"Can I eat the weeds?"
"Can I grow plants from plugs?"
"Can I grow my vegetables and aromatic herbs togather?"
"Can I use the food scraps, leaves and other waste I throw away to feed my plants?"
"Can I grow my plants from cuttings and scraps?"
"Can I make a mediterranean garden in a continental climate?"
"Can I grow food without ever digging the soil?"
"Can I reproduce healthy soil microbiology?"
"Can I replenish soil after I just dug it up?"
"Can I make a soil amendment that will hold and cycle microbiology and nutrients for thousands of years?"
"Can I cultivate mushrooms?"
"Can I make plugs from seed?"
"Can I mix my own substrate?"
"Can I make the best organic liquid fertilizer from scraps?"
"Can I build a solar passive greenhouse?"
"Can I make a stove that outputs charcoal for permanent soil improvement and heat to cook food?"

cicoka3.JPG

Above, my rosemary and sage (out of focus) enjoying themselves togather

All of these questions lead to experiments, which led to even more questions, which led to even more experiments... A fractal was formed and over a few years I became a geeky permacultural ecclectic. I always (and still) wanted to know more and I took my information from the most diverse sources... After a few semi-fails, I soon understood that there's always more happening in the garden than a person presenting a gardening technique could ever tell you. They say "In gardening, whatever works, works"... It means that whatever you read, where ever you read it, might or might not be true when you apply it to your particular situation.

That's why I don't like articles or people saying "Do this, don't do that", although I've done it myself. It seems like the easiest route to take, to simplify methods to an extent where it is practical for anybody with half-a-brain to use. Unfortunately, it can be dangerous. To a new gardener, it can be a direct strike to his new shaky gardening self-esteem (no pun intended). You see, if you, as a senior gardener show me, a novice, your best way to grow a particular plant and I follow each and every step you describe, I fail, I might fall to believe something completely irrational "I don't have a green thumb, gardening is not for me".
Trust me, everyone can grow plants, everyone can grow their own food (with a sunny little space).

cicoka4.JPG

Above, a clover soil cover in my friend's orchard, it protects the soil and fixes nitrogen from the air using sophisticated plant-bacteria relationships.

I didn't make this Steemit account to describe a definitive way to doing/living permaculture, nor to tell you what permaculture is or is not. I'm here to bring you my experience, my thoughts and feelings on the subject, and I've got much to speak about, so follow up if you think you could benefit from some of this! I always follow back - symbiosis is the key... An idea without a person who will make it reality is worth nothing, and the more people looking for good ideas there are, the more likely it will become real.

Sort:  

That's a great post and amazing opinion! I also started to grow and learn and educate others about turning plants into food! I already got my sunny little space and it's getting bigger next spring 🎍
@steemitcards !commentcard
Keep growing 🌄

Nice! I've followed you... Don't let failure get you down, it's all a part of the learning curve!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @freegardens to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Very nice post and covers so much.

The 'can you grow food from scraps' has NEVER worked for me and I have attempted numerous times. Wish I knew the secret to that one.

"Whatever works for you, works"
Keep trying different methods and different plants. I have successfully grown carrots, parsley, radishes, some cruciferous greens in this manner... Stay updated if you want to see future experiments I will do! :)

Glad to hear your story! Big permie geek here as well, upvoted and following you!

Glad we're all up on the train... See you around!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58521.00
ETH 2488.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39