📷 Critters In My Garden - Mothman Comes For A Visit - Cossus Cossus Macro Photography

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Mothman Comes For A Visit.

a cossus cossus moth hatched in my garden yesterday

mothman_02.jpg

mothman_03.jpg

mothman_04.jpg

mothman_05.jpg
I'm pretty sure it was trying to hypnotize me!


It had just hatched right before these images were taken.

It emerged from the soil in the middle of a footpath in my garden, so I picked it up and carried it to safety - in my tomato plant.

It was still drowsy and didn't fly off for a while, so I had a good chance to take some macro shots. I am still using the reversed-lens trick @stresskiller re-introduced to me, but this time I had a flash with me and the resulting images are much much sharper with the f-stop at 16.

I have seen a bunch of their kind in their caterpillar state before! They are crazy huge (3-4") alien-like creatures! I'll have to take a picture for you next time I see one, but that will likely be next year in spring, so in the meantime here's a link to the wikimedia image.


mothman_01.jpg
hand for scale

mothman_00.jpg
it's cocoon in the ground


you scrolled all the way down here?

have a trippy cossus cossus gif for a treat!

mothman.gif


every day in the garden is a day well spent!

follow @fraenk

... it's free!

🖖
steem-on and prosper


introducing the #GooglyPrize!

Win free SBD for sticking #GooglyEyes on things! [read more]

Sort:  

see practice does help :) this looks a lot better then last time already , keep practicing and you might be a macro jedi one day :) resteemed

getting there... though in the long run I'll need some different glass

Very nice shots. I appreciate that you find the beauty of nature in such a "small" thing like a moth.

thank you!

I am surprised there is no googly eyes on the tomatoes :D
Hate moths, but the last shot is freaking awesome!

there will be googly tomatoes sooner or later, heh!

yeah... that stare in the last shot... creepy :P

Very! I hope I will never meet any of them from that close. Yuk...
Why nobody photographs mice? They are so cute :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fraenk from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

That gif is very trippy indeed!

Very sharp! very nice! I like it. upvoted

Excellent click
Very beautiful photography
👌👌👌🌷 Macro photography

thanks a heap!

He's a nice one. Not creepy at all 😀 I've seen that species when I used to live in Scotland.

heh... you found him!

I found that stare he put on a bit creepy... and I don't know about nice... I'm sure he has no ill intentions but his kind is doing quite some damage to the trees in the garden... but it's nature's way, I won't interfere!

Just follow and resteem this post if your steem.power is zero i will upvote your one post
upvote this post then comment your post link which you want should I upvote it
If you not following me you should follow me then do it
https://steemit.com/upvote/@crypto-booster/upvoting-started-followers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57673.98
ETH 2343.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37