Winter Photography

in #photography6 years ago

Winter can be a spectacular event. With every day bringing something new, here in the north our weather as taken a particular turn.
We've had snow, and then we've had really cold days. Both mixed together can be an amazing event, making everything look like a magical place.

What a beautiful sight we were given on our way to go sliding.

Everything was so still, so quiet, so frozen and white.

It looked like all the plants grew tiny frozen prickly hairs!

A couple close ups of the crystal like buildups

I didn't have time to get any pictures myself of the kids sliding. I was too busy helping Frankie get up the hill. I was able to get a quick shot of the sky, showing the difference of when the day got warmer.

The sky was clearing up, showing more blue sky as the sun came out from hiding. We were in more dense forest which helped the trees be a little less frozen as well. But what a huge difference it made!

Here is another picture to compare it with, the edge of the forest.

It started to get warm here this week. We went from -20 celsius, -30 to now school being cancelled because the roads are slippery from the snow melting and then getting cold again to raining tomorrow. What is happening? I have no clue but we might just start seeing grass tomorrow.
And to think... We just got our Enticer (snow mobile) fixed and ready to use. That is going to have to wait. But on a more positive note, warm weather makes the snow sticky, perfect for snowmen and building!

Sort:  

It was! We had a lot of fun! Thank you <3

Really cool images @foxyspirit

I love this time of year. Snowmen, snowball fights and most importantly, Skiing! Even the most drab looking places can look beautiful in the frost and snow. Bucharest is a great example of this. Parts of the city are a little run down but in the snow it looks amazing.

The close up of the crystals, shot looks like it's 3D when you scroll up and down.

Nice job.

Gaz

I can't ski even if my life depended on it! Well I would probably kill myself doing it lol.

Snow transforms the scenery like nothing else. It becomes silent, dramatic, poetic and all. I used to like going down the trails and getting my pictures taken as though I was in a fantasy world. Taking my coat off, pretending as though I was immune to the freezing air. I was also young lol. I don't have those winter pictures anymore. Just a couple of summer ones. I lost most a long time ago. Those were the fun days. Today I would probably look like the bear in a bad movie scene than I would in anything of a fantasy style lol. I am not so willing to try that :p

Wow. You were brave taking your jacket off in freezing conditions. Your not a Green Bay Packers fan are you? lol 😂

I bet the pic's looked amazing though. It is such a beautiful time of the year.

I'm just about to go back to Romania and teach a few friends how to ski. I love it so much that it has become a real important focus in my life. I am at my happiest when I'm flying down the slopes or teaching someone how to do it. The only problem is that the season will be over in early March and I will have to wait another year. Boooo!

Ah yes you enjoy winter so much when you get out in it and play! Living in the moment and focusing in upon such neat stuff is great and sharing it here leveraging technology is even better.

Solid.

I love that I can share it here! Not everyone gets to experience winter, so I am happy to bring some of what I see to other people. The best part is being out there and taking it all in, watching the kids play and enjoying it all. No better place to be than in nature :)

Totally true. I see posts from my friend showing me Nigeria, Bulgaria, Venezuela and many tropical islands and it expands my perspective. Then, I throw up a #dtubesnap with a minute of winter driving and wonder why anyone would want to see that.

We are the blockchain warriors from the North!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Exactly how I was thinking. But I know someone out there may wish to see it. If we don't share it we will never know ^_^

Warriors of the North! Oorah! :p hehehe I like that ;)

really lovely photos @foxyspirit, love the winter landscape (except the cold that goes along with it) lol

Thank you Claudiaz! It really is nice to capture the beauty of it :)

Congratulations @foxyspirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 22000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 23000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues
Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Congratulations @foxyspirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 23000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 24000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59789.86
ETH 2418.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43