Midnight Pictures

in #photography5 years ago

Last night I brought my dog, Piper, out and thought of trying to take some pictures in the night. The air was smokey from all houses heating with their wood stoves, the smell of warm cozy nights.

There is something about being outside at night in the winter that makes things poetic and magical. The pictures I am showing are only from my backyard, hoping that one day I can bring you the magic of a nightly winter forest.

Looking out towards the street, you can kind of see the smoke in the air. Usually not like this, thinking someone was having a hard time starting their fire.

I wanted to show the sparkle that snow tends to have. Those little white dust acting like itty bitty diamonds reflecting the street light.

I have often wondered if I should shake the snow off the trees of if the snow acted like an insolation to help keep the trees warm. Silly thought I know, but I have never taken it off just incase.

A leaf frozen in time, escaped for only a moment. The wind pushing it to leave its last traces and memories in the snow.

Piper. Working her magic, acting like a double watchdog, using her mirrored shadow to scare away the spirits from our house.

Hoping you have enjoyed a nightly scene, taking in all the simple things to enjoy a great life!

Foxyspirit.jpg

Sort:  

Love the photos, my favorite parts of the snow is how quiet it makes everything and how bright night time is from the snow reflecting back the moon light

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you my friend. Yes it does have that quiet feeling to it. It's comforting. It does not have that pitch black feeling to it either like in the summer.
This post and your comment helps me enjoy the beauty of winter. Thanks!

Nice photos! Though it's winter, these photos feel so warm, if that makes sense in any way. Xx

It does! It's like a mystery because of how it can make us feel without an exact reason that makes sense behind it. I totally get it ^_^

I think what seems to make night in winter so magical is the quiet, you know? Snow dampens the sound and because it's so cold there are fewer people and animals about.

Lovely photos, thank you so much for sharing! I can feel the magic in them :)

I agree with you 100%. It is very peaceful. Somewhat relaxing to the soul.

I am glad you enjoyed it and you are very welcome ^_^

my dogs and the kids would love the snow.... so we are jealous hahaah
piper likes it to is see,
have a great weekend
britt

Thanks! And I hope you have a great weekend as well. Take care ^_^

We Will although its -2 and raining 😬

Aw that's too bad. But depending, rain can be fun too. I do love the rain :) But ya -2 and rain is not so fun.

Congratulations @foxyspirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2500 replies. Your next target is to reach 2750 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Some really nice pictures! Snow at night is magical!

Really nice shots. Winter nights have something magical. Every light is reflected and it is never quite dark.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16