You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lilac is My Favorite

in #photography6 years ago

The scent is embedded in my mind from childhood. In Chicago, my grandmother's backyard was all lilac.
Here in Southern California I have only seen one lilac bush and it died. Our weather does not get cold enough for lilacs or peonies, my favorites!

Sort:  

I thought peonies were okay with warm climate, but then again I know nothing abut climate in California.
Thanks!

Southern California is basically a desert.
We have hot days until late October.
Winters are mild days mid 70 F nights around 50 F
Not much rain but I believe that is engineered. It's quite nice. Just doesn't freeze which things like lilacs and peonies need (not many tulips either) I do have a lily of the valley, which I absolutely love!

Oh wow, I never really thought about it in terms of climate, thanks for letting me know. I am yet to visit the West coast.

Lily of the valley is one of my favorite little flowers as well, they are so fragrant it's overwhelming haha

One thing that grows easily here is the Plumeria. The fragrance is wonderful. The Hawaiian lei flower. They are not the most attractive in the winter if they loose all their leaves, but the scent of the flowers makes up for it.
When you do make it to the west, keep in mind that July thru October temps can reach easily over 100 degrees unless you are on the coast. Further up the coast the temps get cooler.

Good to know, thanks!

Oh those are so pretty, I haven't seen them in real life though haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63122.96
ETH 2686.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57