Last Country Drive in the Truck (Original Photography)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Howdy,

The old Ford Ranger has been traded for something much more reliable. Before heading back to Rochester, though, I took it out for one last spin through the countryside around Mankato.


MM201820180829-EOS_6543.jpgOld Ford Ranger

My parents purchased another Jeep and I had the option to use my truck as a trade-in and take their old Jeep. While I'll miss driving the little manual transmission Ranger, the Jeep is a huge improvement. The truck had a list of problems including:

  • Leaking radiator and slow oil leak
  • Shuddering while accelerating and while driving over 60 MPH
  • Brake problems and engine revving to 4,000 RPM while braking
  • No A/C and broken passenger-side fan
  • Broken passenger-side door handle, tail light, license plate lights, quarter panel (held together with Gorilla tape)


MM201820180829-EOS_6558.jpgLong Shadows from Corn Stalks

As for the drive, I headed out of town toward Triple Falls. There are some beautiful fields and farms out that way, and the setting sun made for perfect lighting. Some farmers seem to be harvesting strange square patches of their corn. This is something I haven't noticed in the past, and I'm not sure if there is any benefit. You would think harvest in a linear path would be much more efficient and cost effective.


MM201820180829-EOS_6567.jpgMother Nature Wet Her Plants

It had rained quite a bit earlier in the day, so there were large puddles in the low-lying areas. Some fields still have ponds as a result of the flooding we had this spring.


MM201820180829-EOS_6557.jpgAccidental Paparazzi

This is one of my favorite little farms in the area. I took the photo, not realizing that the farmer was working in the background. He blends in, and even with the full resolution image, he's a bit hard to spot... When he t urned around, I waved, and he waved back.


MM201820180829-EOS_6569.jpgCreek

I hadn't noticed this little stream before, but it caught my attention as I was about to head back to town. The stream cuts across a few fields and there was a small bridge crossing it that made for a great place to take the shot.


MM201820180829-EOS_6570.jpgBye bye, Ranger

There are things I will miss about the truck (the control of a manual transmission, crank windows, being able to throw about anything in the back), but the Jeep is a huge improvement. With four-wheel drive, I should be able to get around better in the winter and probably spend less time stuck in the middle of nowhere. It also has a sunroof, which will be great when the bison are along the road. Leaning out a window for a photo can get a person skewered.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

tag.jpg

Sort:  

New wheels AND laptop!! I thought I would miss a manual stick shift but got over that in a hurry!
I used to hate a manual crank window too cause I always leaned into it and would ALWAYS get my hair stuck in the window. I’d always be pissed off/embarrassed cause My head would be stuck against the window while driving lol

Stunning shots! And of course LOVED your photo titles...especially the 3rd one lol

Hehehe—I never thought of that, with the manual windows! Can totally see that happening, too!

It seems that vulture watching my truck turned out to be an omen, after all. Maybe the dealership can find some parts to salvage...

Not to laugh, but that would be something I've not seen to date ( :

Bye bye truck! Hello Jeep! Fun fun and always nice to get a more reliable vehicle! Good pics! I like the stream and the Hay For Sale. ;)

Thanks! I only stepped on the "clutch" once, so far.... The 4WD should be great for those country roads, especially this winter.

I miss my old manual truck, they're fun to drive! Some great shots what looks like near sunset. Took me a second to spot the guy in his garden, lol. Definitely had to look at it in full res

If I land a decent job after finishing this masters degree, If like to get a manual Jeep Wrangler. The Cherokee is a nice upgrade, though.

Lol, yeah. I didn't even see him until he started walking to the barn. He blends right in.

I think those squares are alien ballfields...

Could be! I haven't seen any circles out there, yet.

we have the same little truck without the stepside, so tiny!
can't wait to get a van! no more raining on my cargo!
grats on the jeep!

Thanks!

Rangers are a nice size. I used to parallel park that thing like a champ, and you still have plenty of cargo space. The locking bed cover was nice and kept things dry. As for the step side, that's more decorative than useful, but it did look pretty nice.

That said, I'm glad to have something reliable and with 4WD. :-)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-01T17:46:24
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 265.10/200.00
Total Photos: 36
Total comments: 34
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Greetings @fotosdenada! We are seeking excellent content creators to be part of our resteem circle and enjoy free resteems from us!

Resteems are free and should be free! Learn how to get free resteems from shareables!

Shareables - We resteem anything we find shareable. Always strive for quality content. Go on express and harness your blogging potential!

God bless from us @Shareables!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63064.62
ETH 2460.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66