Clouds, Contests, and... (Original Photography)

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Howdy,

The last week has seen summer lose its grip on southern Minnesota. Where the last couple of months have included heat and humidity, the temperatures have begun to drop and the nights have become chilly.

The change in temperature has also brought some impressive clouds and isolated storms. These first couple photos are of a storm front that missed Mankato (my current home) by about fifty miles. It was a small, isolated storm and, as you can see, the day was otherwise clear and sunny.

MM201920190826EOS_8004.jpg
Storm Front's Backside

Okay, so I meant to turn the polarizing filter 90º to avoid the dark blue spot in that last image. I had it on the lens to add a little volume to the clouds. Well, at least I got the darkness perfectly centered!

MM201920190826EOS_8007.jpg
Whipped Cream, No Cherry

I also made the drive over to New Ulm, the German-founded town about a half hour away, to re-take a photo I've taken before. It needed a more interesting sky. The result was pretty satisfying, although it would be nice if they were open later in the evening for a bit more color.

MM201920190824EOS_7985.jpg
Alien Boarding Ramp

If nothing else, it's fun to see the looks on peoples' faces, when you're rolling on your back, trying to take a photo of the ceiling. At least nobody called the cops on me. This time.

For reference, here is what the Herman the German monument looks like from below:

MM201920190824EOS_7999.jpg

It has been about a week since my last post and I may be posting about that often for awhile. I need to take a bit of a step back from social media, especially while I focus on finding work or plan out how to survive off the land as a crazy hermit.

This last week has been a bit of a mixed bag. My email inbox is littered with rejection letters and my savings are exhausted. Worrying about the future is now my primary activity.

On the other hand, I did rank 66th in a photo contest. It wasn't good enough to win, but 66 out of 39,589 entries is at least an indication that my work doesn't suck. Here are some of the results from Viewbug contests:

contests.jpg
Contest Entries

Here's one more. Several of these contests had a Canon EOS 5D Mark IV as a prize, which would be a huge upgrade over the ancient 7D that I currently use. Given my current situation, the only way to upgrade would be to win a contest... which is apparently beyond my reach.

bison2.JPG
I finally "shared it with the world."

If you do the math, the waterfall and bison photos were actually in the top 1%. Not good enough to win, but still not bad.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

BlogtagOrange.jpg

Sort:  

Dang, I think your photo entries are STUNNING! I think that's pretty outstanding as I have to assume that lots of entries gather a voting crowd to raise their odds of winning? Not sure about that, but it seems logical.

Thanks! In this case, you can't really have anyone "vote for your photo." For the ones that are community-voted, you have to be a member and the images just cycle through all of them in groups of four. You pick your first and second choice of every group and it tallies up the points.

Good to see you popping in for a visit! I've been a little absent the last couple of weeks too, as life becomes too busy. Those cloud photos are absolutely stunning!

Congratulations on your near wins! I know it's not quite as good as winning, but you're still an amazingly good photographer, and one of these days you will get there.

Best of luck (again) in your job search. If you end up living off the land like a crazy hermit, I would recommend somewhere further south than Minnesota. :) You will find something, I can feel it.

Ha! I doubt I'll ever winn one of the ocntests, but it is nice to at least make the top ten percent or so. The job hunt is not going well at the moment. I was hoping to have work by now. I'm going to try and set up an Etsy shop to sell prints, but who knows if I'll even sell anything.

Not bad at all sir fotosdenada! Thanks for sharing all the great photos and good luck in the job hunt, do a post when you get hired!

Thanks. The job hunt appears to be stalling badly.

I'm so sorry to hear that sir fotosdenada, that sucks. What happens if you can't find one?

Well, i haven't tried unemplyment yet. I'm going to try opening an Etsy store to sell prints of my photos, but there's no guarantee I'll even get a sale. The fees are pretty negligible, though, and there's not much risk involved.

And there are others who are doing that on Etsy?

Those cloud photos are stunning and I love the new views of Herman.

Your photos are always winners.

I'm so sorry the job hunt is causing you such stress. I hate worrying about money.

Thanks! We'll see what happens with work. I keep applying to more places, but can't even get the local retail places to call me back. I guess I'm overqualified.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @fotosdenada! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62938.05
ETH 2552.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63