After Dusk (Original Nighttime Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

Howdy,

It's been awhile since my lasat post. Hopefully the next one won't be too far off. Things have gotten a little busy here in the search for work and the lack of employment has become a critical problem. Still, I had enough gas in the tank to go out and do a little astro-photography Wednesday night.

MM201920190731EOS_5286.jpg
"Oliver 1888"

I'm not exactly sure what this building is. I couldn't find information on it, based on the sign above the door and have sent a copy of the photo to the county's historical society to, hopefully, get a little more information. The sign above the door reades "OLIVER [something] 1888." I thought it might be a church, but it is hard to tell. Crosses, visible in the windows, are actually just reflected light from the sky beyond. A few fireflies photo-bombed, but they sort of add to the scene in my opinion.

MM201920190731EOS_5313.jpg
Corny Night Photo

Okay, well this isn't my best night photo, but I liked the way the corn looked at the bottom. There were power lines overhead, and I couldn't get much closer, so the skinny photo is what it is.

I did find a spot without power lines, though, and had a lot of fun. It's very dark, once you get a ways away from Mankato, and easy to see the Milky Way. The only difficulty is finding a spot without a little town or farm's lights on the horizon and something to put in the foreground.

MM201920190731EOS_53082.jpg
Hay! Look!

This one required quite a bit of post work, since my aging camera doesn't do well in low light. I'm hoping to find work very soon, so I can upgrade my camera and avoid becoming homeless both.

Here's a closer shot of the same bale, processed a little differently. Which edit do you prefer?

MM201920190731EOS_5310Edit.jpg
Same Bale, Different Click

A local retailer even turned me down for a job, once they saw I had a masters degree. They assumed (rightly) that I would drop them as soon as I found something more lucrative.

Thank you for taking a look! If you enjoy my work, please click the upvote button. Comments are also greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

@fotosdenada

BlogtagOrange.jpg

Sort:  

Whoa! I really like the Hay Look photo! That one is a stunner.
Bummer that you didn't get hired because of your masters, but I think there is no harm in tailoring your resume for certain jobs.

That job was so old-school, I had to file a paper application. I guess I could have left my MS education off, but then I wouldn't be filling an accurate application and could be fired if they noticed...

I'm not sure which I like better. My first thought on the first hay picture, "it's a selfie in the dark, and his head is VERY round". OK, imagination gone wild has always been a bit of a 'problem' at this end. But they each do have a different look. One reveals what it is, the other is more of a fill in the blank thing. I like them both. How's THAT for wishy washy?! But you do have fun out in the night sky.
I'm voting church on the Oliver. Or schoolhouse, though that's a BIG belfry for a bell. Then again, I live out west, and nothing much exists from that far back. Your bushes are probably older than some of our buildings.
Hope the job hunt comes up successful soon. I'm sure it is tempting to lie on an application, or at least fudge a bit, and maybe that's better than living in the car, but I'm with you, honesty usually comes out first. Maybe tell them up front, "I realize I may leave, but I gotta eat, PLEASE". Maybe that will work. Something will come up soon though. I have my fingers crossed, and that should help. Cheers

Thanks! It was definitely nice to get out and ignore everything for awhile. With photography, I tend to ignore the world and focus on the images. I really wanted to find a tractor parked in the field for the night, but couldn't find any. Too bad I don't know a farmer in the area.

We'll see what happens with the job search, but I'm at a bit of a critical point.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Those are so beautiful! I love your night pictures. The hay bale ones are amazing. What a perfect thing to put in the foreground! I have my fingers crossed for your job search.

Thanks! I was hoping to find a tractor, but there weren't any to be seen. Sometimes, the farmers around here will leave them at the edge of the field for the night.

We'll see about the work. If I don't find something soon, things will get very bad.

A tractor would have been awesome! They're probably all back in the barn if the hay is done.

If you get desperate, get a bus ticket to Oregon. I'll take all the help I can get!

Posted using Partiko Android

What fabulous shots, the building does look like it may have been a church at some stage

godo luck with things settling down for you soon

Thanks! I'll need it.

Great night shots @fotosdenada I especially love the first image with the clear silhouettes and the colour of the sky.

Thanks! Still no word from the historical society on what it is...

Lovely photos! And what a fantastic night sky! There is too much light pollution around here to get good star views. Fun to see a haystack, too. Not many farms put up hay that way these days.

Thanks!

Finding places that aren't too luminous is a little difficult, but there are some good spots in Wisconsin. Most are up by Lake Superior, but hey. I use online light polution map to find good places. If you use it, make sure you check the 2019 data under base layers. Anywhere you can get under about 0.5 is good enough to get the Milky Way.

Thanks for that! I can remember seeing the milky-way while sitting in my small town backyard when I was a kid. Before the days of big box store parking lots that remain lit all night, and car dealerships with those ridiculously bright lights.

Hi @fotosdenada good job, nice photos love suvch shots in the night.
Why not trying to find something what is related to your hobby with the camera?
Zwischenlinie-2 für Steem-Post 940x120.png
with sunny greetings from Andalusia

Don Thomas

k-DSC_0782.JPG

I've looked at photography work, but the pay is low and I have vision problems. I may end up taking a low-pay photography job just for something to pay the bills, if I can find one. Sería mejor si pudiese encontrarme una manera de volver a mi querido España, pero no he adivinado la manera todavía. Si tuviera una novia con ciudadanía en un país miembro del UE podría hacerlo sin problema.

Buena panorama, la foto que compartiste. Parece un día todo tranquilo. Vi que había otro brote de calor en Europa. Espero que estés en un sítio un poco mejor de temperatura.

Yeah sounds familiar to me ;)

Si tuviera una novia con ciudadanía en un país miembro del UE podría hacerlo sin problema.

pues anda buscala, pero creo que no son tantas en el lugar donde vives tu ahora.
A veces es una buena idea a hablar con la gente que conoces en espana especialmente con los que sieran parte de su vida anterior aqui ;)

No te preocupas, aqui las temperaturas son del maximo unos treinta a treintaycinco porque tenemos mucho viento todos los dias, no como en los pueblos del interior con mas que cuarentaycinco ;)
Zwischenlinie-2 für Steem-Post 940x120.png
con saludos soleados desde Andalucían

Don Thomas

Howdy sir fotosdenada! I think these are all great shots! Not many people can do good night photography. The first photo is perfect and the first bale photo is the one I like best of those two. The thin one with the corn is really cool too. Is the job market real tough because it's a small town?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63114.90
ETH 2626.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72