Florida Scrubjay - Viera Wetlands, Florida - Bird Photography Blog

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Bird photography, especially Birds in Flight, is very challenging. For me the most challenging thing i have photographed. My fascination/frustration with birds began when i started using bigger and longer glass. In particular when i got my 200-400mm all of a sudden birds were so much more accessible. 

The problems with birds are many. Branches and leaves get in the way of a good shot. Sometimes you are too far to get a good shot even with a long lens. Often they fly away just as you are taking the shot, causing me to curse at birds with very unpleasant words.

I was visiting the USA specifically to photograph birds, i even went to a birding conference. By this stage i must sound like some kind of bird nerd, and let me tell you i met a lot of genuine bird nerds at the birding conference. I am totally the antithesis of a birder/bird nerd. I can barely name 3-4 birds,  I just like the way they look and the challenges they ALWAYS present.

I went to the Viera Wetlands in Brevard County, Florida with some local photographers i met on another tour. During that trip i was able to photograph this Florida Scrubjay (thanks to @haphazard-hstead for the bird ID).

Thank you to steemit for the opportunity to share some of my photographs with the community here. 

If you enjoyed this post please follow me @foodieandphoto and if you enjoy it a lot, please resteem it to your followers. I have over 40,000 unpublished photographs to share.


Sort:  

That's a Florida Scrub Jay. They are only in Florida. Many people travel to Florida to see this bird, because they can't see it anywhere else. Lucky you! And great photo!

Thank you so much. Viera Wetlands is a real local gem if you are ever in Florida. Free as free can be, and hardly anyone around. I went in winter.

Thanks for that tip. It's tough to find a place in Florida where there aren't many people and where it's free, especially in the winter! Oh, I should say, too, that there are other Scrub Jays -- we have them here in Oregon's Willamette Valley. But the one in Florida is its own special species.

Nice post and lovely image.

I also enjoy getting to do some bird photography. It is peaceful and a sense of excitement to catch a glimpse of a rare one. Where my inlaws live, there is a bird that migrates there called a painted bunting which is also only found in a small part of the world. I've gotten some distant photos on the ground but still trying to get that perfect image.

A short while back, I posted one of my favorite bird pics from closer to home.


https://steemit.com/steemitphotochallenge/@dreamstream/steemitphotochallenge-entry-or-9-action-or-take-off

Thanks. Love your autumn colors posting.

It looks rather stern. maybe it is a white-chested blue stern-bird :p

Haha. Got a genuine laugh from that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61620.03
ETH 3394.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50