Looking out from a Sea Cave in California

in #photography7 years ago


The coastline at Garrapata State Park in California is full of tide pools, chasms, and sea caves. You don't really notice the sea caves unless you climb down onto and around the rocky shoreline. This cave was a pleasant surprise and the overcast day actually helped even out the photo. Had there been a blue sky I never would have been able to get all of the detail inside of the cave without blowing out the sky.

Shot on my Canon T3i with Tamron 10-24mm Lens. 1/250 seconds; f/8; ISO 100

Sort:  

When I first saw this I was thinking that this photograph could have been taken 3.8 billion years ago. The dawn of life, no organisms around, choking oxygen empty atmosphere. On the side of the photo there will be a rock pool with a few proteins forming into amino acids. Great photo and watch out for them tides.

Oh those tides! I have spent a good deal of time now shooting by the ocean and have several tide stories. I lost my T3i from a sudden sneaker wave while I was crouched down trying to getva reflection off a tide pool. The wave hit the rocks in front of me and went over my head. Left meand my gear soaking wet and the exposure button on the camera has been broken ever since!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=fivealive55
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=20171222t031136757z-post


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Nice shot. Best places are often hidden.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54441.42
ETH 2433.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14