The Worlds Biggest Aquarium in Singapore Part 2 - The Big Tube Tank

in #photography6 years ago

Welcome to Part 2! So we are still on our first day in Singapore and we are checking out the S.E.A. Aquarium, which is said to be the largest Aquarium in the world. Well I just LOVE Aquariums! (Warning: I took a lot of photos ... A LOT so this post is split in 3 parts and is a bit photo heavy).


20180129-IMG_6320.jpg

Getting There

The Aquarium is located on Sentosa Island which is like a resort Island with all kinds of attractions on it.


Screen Shot 2018-02-24 at 11.42.29.png

There are three ways to get there:

  • Taxi
  • Monorail
  • Cable Car

We opted for the Monorail. It was the cheapest and for our purposes the Monorail station was closest to the Aquarium. A taxi is pricey as you have to pay a fee to go onto Sentosa Island (on top of the fare). The cable car station was a further walk away.

To get to the Monorail we took the Metro to HarbourFront station which sits under a shopping mall called VivoCity. In VivoCity you climb the escalators to the top floor where you can buy your tickets and board the Monorail. It takes about 5 minutes to get to the first station on Sentosa which is also closes to the Aquarium. If I remember correctly it was about $6 per ticket.


IMG_9679.JPG

Back to the Aquarium!

So we have jut left the shark tank which you saw in Part 1. The next section of the aquarium is dedicated to species from the South China Sea, East Africa and the Red Sea. You walk through a long hallway that has lots of little tanks along the walls displaying the various species of fish from these different parts of the world.


20180129-IMG_6259.jpg


20180129-IMG_6262.jpg


20180129-IMG_6266.jpg


20180129-IMG_6269.jpg

I love how colourful they are and the patterns on some of these fish are really cool. I find it very relaxing to watch fish swimming around. Getting pictures in this place was proving a bit tricky. You know my tip about coming here early? Well we didn't, we got to the aquarium about an hour after it had opened and it was already pretty busy and people weren't being shy about shoving in to be right at the glass.

We had this one couple, and older couple, who were going through the exhibit at the same pace as us so at every tank we got to, they would be there too, pushing people aside so they could take selfies and the man would keep coughing a nasty loud spluttery cough onto people around him. It was so gross. So we hung back for a while to let them get further ahead of us when we got to this next room:


20180129-IMG_6271.jpg


20180129-IMG_6272.jpg

This place was awesome! The tank was huge! So big there's a person swimming around inside cleaning the place up.


20180129-IMG_6277.jpg

She's holding a hose that sucks up all the dirt that collects on the bottom, but look how tiny she is compared to the tank.. it gives you a bit of a sense of scale.


20180129-IMG_6279.jpg

So after pottering around here for a good 10 minutes we figured the annoying couple must be well ahead so we continued forward through the rest of the place. By this point we are at the Red Sea life.


20180129-IMG_6280.jpg


20180129-IMG_6282.jpg


20180129-IMG_6290.jpg


20180129-IMG_6292.jpg


20180129-IMG_6298.jpg

Check it out, another diver cleaning a tank. This time there was a member of staff on the other side showing the diver which spots on the glass to clean.


20180129-IMG_6299.jpg


20180129-IMG_6303.jpg


20180129-IMG_6306.jpg

Look at these guys, they are called Dragon Horse Fish. So cool!


20180129-IMG_6314.jpg


20180129-IMG_6318.jpg

These baby Mantas are just so cute:


20180129-IMG_6320.jpg


20180129-IMG_6323.jpg


20180129-IMG_6324.jpg

It looks like he's smiling :D

Make sure to tune in tomorrow for Part 3 where we head into the Ocean tank for some of the bigger fish as well as some really cool Jelly fish!


!steemitworldmap 1.2835219 lat 103.8139352 long The Worlds Biggest Aquarium in Singapore Part 2 - The Big Tube Tank D3SCR


image
Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem

Sort:  

These photos are colorful and just awesome!! I've never even heard of Dragon Horse Fish before now!! Thanks @fiftysixnorth!!

Thanks so much :) The Dragon Horse Fish are cool aren't they? I was surprised they had them, they are notoriously difficult to spot, let alone photograph in the wild, so I was pretty excited by this! :)

You're very welcome and I'm glad you got to see and photograph them to share!!

That first photo is like from cartoons :)

haha! Yeah it kinda does :)

Very cool.
I've been posting a few images from a Jelly fish exhibit at my local Aquarium.

Awesome! I'll go check them out :)

Yo! I was just thinking of bringing my girl there next month!

Awesome! You definitely should!

What such astonishing photos!!! Loved that mix of colors and shapes, you could capture the best of all fishes. Can't wait for watching more photos like these ones!

Thanks! I hope you'll enjoy tomorrow's post as well :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 23 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Wow that is some really crazy Awsome tanks.
And the fishes has beautiful colors and so bright 😉 I loooove this kind of things and I would love to se a place like that myself.
The manta is my favorite, saw one in Denmark in the blue planet and they are so cute and smiles at ya 😊 well looks like it... Lol
Really incredible pictures my friend and thank you for sharing this with us. Love it. Cheers! 🤗

thanks for stopping by and checking out my post :) I love the manta's too, they are so cute and definitely looks like they're smiling at you :) When you get rich from steemit you should go on a trip and include this place in your itinerary ;)

My pleasure my friend and some of those fishes I've never seen before so that was really amazing to se 😉 and your shots are incredible.
When I get rich from steemit 😁😁lol
You never know. Have a wonderful day and stay Awesome. Cheers! 🤗

Thank you :) I have no doubt you will get steemit rich ;) Have a great day too and stay safe in the snow! :)

😊 Well I'm already rich in friendships so I already concidering myself to be lucky..... Rich on money is a bonus 🤗
Happy Wednesday!

Well that is no surprise, you are a wonderful person.. one cannot help but become friends with you! But you are right.. the money would be a bonus :) A happy Wednesday to you too!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=fiftysixnorth
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-worlds-biggest-aquarium-in-singapore-part-2-the-big-tube-tank


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

WOW!!!! what great photo's and you look like you are having a ton of fun!!

Thanks! I definitely did have a lot of fun. its such a great place :)

Amazing shots it’s kike we are there what an incredible aquarium

Thanks! It is amazing. If i lived in Singapore I'd be there all the time!

I can see why :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51