The Worlds Biggest Aquarium in Singapore Part 1 - The Sharks

in #photography7 years ago

On our first day in Singapore we decided to check out the S.E.A. Aquarium, which is said to be the largest Aquarium in the world. Well I just LOVE Aquariums so we had to go! (Warning: I took a lot of photos ... A LOT so this post is split in 3 parts and is a bit photo heavy).


20180129-IMG_6244.jpg

Getting There

The Aquarium is located on Sentosa Island which is like a resort Island with all kinds of attractions on it.


Screen Shot 2018-02-24 at 11.42.29.png

There are three ways to get there:

  • Taxi
  • Monorail
  • Cable Car

We opted for the Monorail. It was the cheapest and for our purposes the Monorail station was closest to the Aquarium. A taxi is pricey as you have to pay a fee to go onto Sentosa Island (on top of the fare). The cable car station was a further walk away.

To get to the Monorail we took the Metro to HarbourFront station which sits under a shopping mall called VivoCity. In VivoCity you climb the escalators to the top floor where you can buy your tickets and board the Monorail. It takes about 5 minutes to get to the first station on Sentosa which is also closes to the Aquarium. If I remember correctly it was about $6 per ticket.


IMG_9679.JPG


IMG_9669.JPG

You can see here there is also a footpath and you can walk over.. though given the heat and our delicate European sensibilities we decided not to sweat a gallon getting there.. also we weren't sure how to find it.


IMG_9671.JPG

You can see the aquarium from the Monorail, its that long building with the copper arches going over it.

Tips

Here are some handy tips to help enhance your experience should you go:

  • Buy your tickets online. We saved about 25% on the ticket price per person by buying tickets from a discount site called Govoyagin.com. They cover most of the major Singapore attractions including other cities. Be warned though, they are based in Tokyo and because of that my credit card got blocked by the bank. The Hotel was very good in letting me make free international calls to sort that out though.
  • Go Early, like.. opening time early. Its popular and busy. Mostly with Chinese tourists.. and the travel in large groups, tend to push their way through you to get the best view, and most importantly, they like to take a lot of selfies with flash, which startles the fish after a while. Go early and get ahead of them.
  • Singapore Tourist Pass: Get yourself a tourist pass. Its $20 with a $10 deposit (which you get back when you return it) for 3 days of unlimited travel by bus and metro. It is so easy and convenient and if you plane to go around the city alot, it is very much worth it! More info available on their website.

The Aquarium

Alright! Now the good stuff. Once you spent a short while waiting in line to enter the building the first area you come across is the shark tank. Now, as I said earlier I took a lot of pictures.. so I will keep the commentary to a minimum to allow you to enjoy the pictures.

If you decide to take some photos at an aquarium yourself remember a few things:

  • Dont use flash! It reflects off the glass and you get a terrible photo of nothing!
  • Adjust your whitebalance or you will end up with very blue photos! (the larger the tank the harder it gets to compensate for this)
  • A polarised filter can help reduce the glare of the aquarium glass but in low light conditions can make it very difficult to get a decent exposure.

On to the sharks!


20180129-IMG_6213.jpg

Ok, yes, sorry. No sharks in this picture, but this is part of the shark tank. I wanted to include it for a sense of scale.. the shark tank is so big the were able to fit the better part of a sunken ship in it! Crazy.


20180129-IMG_6218.jpg


20180129-IMG_6219.jpg


20180129-IMG_6220.jpg


20180129-IMG_6221.jpg


20180129-IMG_6222.jpg


20180129-IMG_6223.jpg


20180129-IMG_6224.jpg


20180129-IMG_6225.jpg


20180129-IMG_6227.jpg


20180129-IMG_6229.jpg


20180129-IMG_6233.jpg


20180129-IMG_6234.jpg


20180129-IMG_6235.jpg


20180129-IMG_6236.jpg


20180129-IMG_6237.jpg


20180129-IMG_6238.jpg


20180129-IMG_6239.jpg


20180129-IMG_6240.jpg


20180129-IMG_6242.jpg


20180129-IMG_6243.jpg


20180129-IMG_6245.jpg


20180129-IMG_6246.jpg


20180129-IMG_6247.jpg


20180129-IMG_6248.jpg

I like this last shot, it looks like the sharks are about to gobble up the diver.. but don't worry, they didn't ;) After all, the sharks know those guys are there to clean the tank and feed them..

That's it for part 1. Tune in for part 2 tomorrow!


!steemitworldmap 1.2835219 lat 103.8139352 long The Worlds Biggest Aquarium in Singapore Part 1 - The Sharks D3SCR


image
Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem

Sort:  

I've always wanted to be Somewhere like the second to last photo So thrilling

Those tunnels are a lot of fun :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=fiftysixnorth
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-worlds-biggest-aquarium-in-singapore-part-1-the-sharks


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Some amazing pix there brosef. Now i wanna go fishing 😎

Thanks man :) Just don't go fishing in the aquarium ;) I hear they frown on that sort of thing there lol :)

Lmao ok promise.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 23 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

You got a 11.90% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @fiftysixnorth!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

That is really amazing pictures and I would love to go to a place like that.
Amazing shots and incredible sharks and crazy big tanks 😉 thank you for sharing, made my day. That must have been amazing. Cheers! 🤗

I'm glad you enjoyed it :) Yes, it was indeed amazing. I loved every minute of it :)

Wow that’s an impressive looking aquarium and the monorail wasn’t there back when I was there

I did the cable car once and the. The second time we tried some people cut the line and jumped into the car we were about to get in rather than make a fuss we stepped back and had a vent amongst ourselves and then just as we were about to board a boat hit the cable
The car we would have been in dropped

Never been on one since

Yeah the monorail wasn't there when I was last there. That is a crazy story about the cable cars! I would ever get in one again either! jeez. Scary!

Lol 😂 don’t ask me about my airplane experiences

Lol! I bet you had some scary ones! :)

Well I was very lucky to have the travel planned changed last minute

Wow, it's amazing! Never been there, maybe next time I'll fly and have a stopover in SG. Well done!

Definitely do it! :) and thanks :) be sure to check out part 2 now posted and part 3 tomorrow ;)

OMW to check it out!!!

This is SO COOL! I love aquariums. This is huge! So many sharks! I'm looking forward to the next two instalments of this adventure. :)

Thanks! I was surprised by the size of the shark tank and the sheer number of them.. I have been to many aquariums but never one with this many sharks! Glad you enjoyed it.. and I hope you enjoy the next to parts as much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61184.91
ETH 2402.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64