The Staircase to Infinity..

in #photography6 years ago


20140928-IMG_7372 copy.jpg

..but not beyond, that's just silly. After all.. toy story is just FICTION. Much like The Avengers Infinity War is fiction.. but something that isn't fiction is this impossible staircase! Wait.. why are you throwing Avengers in with a random staircase? You may be asking ... weeeeellll I haven't seen the movie yet myself, but parts of it were filmed in this area and though i don't know if they filmed any of the fight scenes in here .. i am kind hoping they did.

Anyway, what makes this shot so weirdly impossible (at first glance) is that I took this picture from just below the top floor of the building .. which also happens to be the FOURTH floor.

Here let me show you the outside:


The_City_Chambers,_Edinburgh_-_geograph.org.uk_-_506023.jpg
Source: Dave Hitchborne / The City Chambers, Edinburgh / CC BY-SA 2.0

Look at that .. 4 floors... but the staircase goes on for so many more! and then at the bottom you can see there are even more steps going down! Its obviously a basement.. but its just a crazy surprise when you walk in there and you look over the railing.. what hiding down there? What lurks beneath the surface? Probably all the administrators and secretaries that do all the real work! You see, this is the City Chambers.. aka City Hall where the city council/govt is housed. The building amongst many others in Edinburgh were used during the filming of The new Avengers movie.. and lets face it .. politicians don't really work .. their staff do! ;)

I am very excited to see this film. I'm not really a fan and I haven't really followed the series so I would be horribly lost plot wise but I am excited to see the scenes they filmed in Edinburgh.. especially since my office is down the road from where they filmed and I ran into them so often .. though I never saw any of the actors .. though rumours suggested they were here.


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

it's a really eye catching photography..... good luck and keep it up your talented work...

Super cool perspective!!!!

Thanks :) it is cool :)

Wow, this is really cool!

Isn't it? It blew my mind when I look over the railing.. I had no idea it went that far down!

I kinda wanna move in there just because the staircase itself already looks so cool! Is the rest of the building as pretty?

I think so. It has a lot of old fashioned looking offices and a few large rooms that are used by government for debate etc but also for weddings and such:

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

I love fisheye photos! Very interesting catch @fiftysixnorth! What lens did you use? :)

Thanks @joshuakhoo :) I used a 17 - 40mm Canon lens.

Oh it’s not a fisheye? The staircase looked curvy and it deceived me there. I guess a fisheye would have made the other lines curved as well. Since I believe you have a liking to architectural photos to might want to consider a fisheye as another lens. You might be surprised how good they are (I wrote a post about 6 reasons to get one. Thought you might like to check it out). Cheers!

Thanks @joshuakhoo :) It is very close to being a fisheye at 17mm :) The lens produces a little bit of curvature because of that but nowhere near as much as a fisheye does.

Thank you for the suggestion, I already own a fisheye lens :) I have the Sigma 15mm 2.8 fish eye. Its a great one, especially for the price. I will check out your post, it sounds interesting!

That is an amazing photograph my friend. Thank you very much for sharing it. And congratulations on alliance featured member, that is a special honor👍

Thanks so much @silverd510 :) It is indeed an honour :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67