The Oldest Travel Agency in the World goes into Administration and I get kicked in the Balls. PART 3 - The Saga Concludes

in #photography5 years ago


20151029-IMG_1758.jpg

AS the title promises, this post will conclude the saga that is me getting kicked in the balls by the travel companies. I do want to say before I share the gripping conclusion to all this drama that I know I am whining a bit here, and that the real victims are the Thomas Cook staff who lost their jobs due to the incompetence and recklessness of the Thomas Cook CEOs.

Anyway, on with the story..


IMG_8992.JPG

When I left you our honeymoon had been cancelled. There wasn't much we could do anymore on friday so I wen home, had some dinner, talked to the finacee about it and when she went to bed upset and tired, I stayed up and drank. Not a good idea I suppose, and I didn't drink too much. We had a few errands to run in the morning so we planned to get those out of the way first thing and head straight out to the travel agents and see if we couldn't find something else.

The plan was to rebook the honeymoon for later in the year and make a nice small trip somewhere nearby in Europe. When we got there though the problem was that with the current problems, everyone was trying to book something and the prices had gone up into the thousands.

We spent all day looking at different options and trying to thing of some creative solutions.

Then my fiancee suggested we scrap all that and see if we couldn't use our refund money to book an entirely new honeymoon somewhere nice right now. So we started looking. Everything was sold out or unavailable at the last minute..


beach-801875_1280.jpg
Source: Pixabay

Except for St Lucia in the Caribbean. As it happens, we can go to St Lucia on pretty much the same dates we were going to cancun for and the travel agent gave us a discount so that the costs would be the same and they'd just use our refund to pay for the new trip so now we are no longer out of pocket!


jetty-1807471_1280.jpg
Source: Pixabay

Can you believe it! Our honeymoon is saved and my balls are thoroughly un-kicked! I can't tell you what a weight that is off of my shoulders! And not only that I think St Lucia is a much better destination than cancun. I have always wanted to go to the Caribbean and now we are going :D

In the end its been a great result even though it did cost us a great deal of stress .. and I'm not gonna lie.. a couple tears too.


image
Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 3 of my contest just started...check it out!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Hello @fiftysixnorth, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Congratulations @fiftysixnorth! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 59000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 60000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94