The Ceiling of La Sagrada Familia - Re-Editing an Old Photo

in #photography6 years ago


20111227-IMG_6248_HDR_edit.jpg

Sometimes its nice to go through old photos and have another go at editing them. Over time as a photographer, its not just your shooting skills that improve, but your editing skills as well.

So today while still dealing with food poisoning I was hit with on Friday, I decided to take a look at a shot I took back in 2011 when I'd only been doing photography for a few years and was still very much learning the basics.

The above shot is the new edit, this one is the old edit:


20111227-IMG_6248.jpg

It's a shot of the ceiling inside the Sagrada Familia in Barcelona. I am sure you are familiar with it, it is the most unique and iconic cathedral in all of Europe.

20111227-IMG_6248_HDR_edit.jpg20111227-IMG_6248.jpg
The New EditThe Original Edit

Of course, sometimes a new edit just benefits from newer technology. For example with this shot I was able to increase the brightness without loosing any detail or adding a lot of noise to the image which previously I wasn't able to do.

What do you think? Does the new edit look better? Is it an improvement? I think so, but as with anything its subjective. I may try to re-edit more old images in the future to see how they turn out.


20111227-IMG_6248_HDR_edit.jpg

I like the new edit. I may even turn it into a print! Anyway, I hope everyone has had a good weekend, I'm sure its been better than mine ;)


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

This is great, I love the fractal pattern of the church framed this way. It can be very rewaeding to re-visiting older photos in photoshop, been doing this on my blogs aswell.

Thanks! It is a great pattern, all of Gaudi's work reflects this kind of pattern.. The inspiration which has come directly from nature.. shells and leaves and insects. Gaudi was an interesting man!
You are quite correct, re-visiting old photos really is rewarding.. also helps you to see how far you have come in developing your own skills :)

Interesting shot. The edits are nice and the patterns are hypnotizing

Thanks :) I find the patterns hypnotizing as well. I could have spent hours in the building just staring up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59388.60
ETH 2528.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50