The Artis Aquarium - Amsterdam

in #photography6 years ago


20180730-IMG_7478.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

Yesterday I posted about The Artis - Amsterdam's Zoo.. I also mentioned there is a planetarium, well on top of that they have an Aquarium, which I naturally made a point of visiting .. some of you who have followed me for a while know I LOVE aquariums!


20180730-IMG_7422.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

The aquarium is situated in an old victorian building to the back of the zoo, so you have the pleasure of walking past loads of other exhibits on the way.


20180730-IMG_7424.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

There are a few rooms in this aquarium (its nowhere near as big as the one in Singapore) that house all the fish, one being a dedicated exhibit to the canals of Amsterdam. They show a cross section of the canal complete with cars at the top parked in the street, fish swimming in the water and dumped garbage like discarded shopping carts on the bottom. So very typically dutch... we don't sugar coat things.

There are a few other rooms, but the one I am interested in is the main chamber (i don't know if its called that). It has some of the biggest tanks in it and is usually quite busy, but on this day we were lucky in that there were very few people around. They all seemed to either be outside by the ice cream stand .. or possibly at the local swimming pool!

Anyway, instead of writing a commentary for each image, which can be tiresome I am just going to leave you here to scroll through the images and I'll meet up with you again at the end...


20180730-IMG_7428.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!


20180730-IMG_7432.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!


20180730-IMG_7436.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!


20180730-IMG_7447.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!


20180730-IMG_7452.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!


20180730-IMG_7465.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!


20180730-IMG_7472.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!


20180730-IMG_7476.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!


20180730-IMG_7478.jpg
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

Sometimes it's just better to be able to scroll through all the images and enjoy them without stopping to read between each shot.. I'm not sure which works better.. sometimes I have something amusing to say about each image.. sometimes I don't. Anyway, tell me what format you prefer to see things in. All the shots here were taken with my Zeiss 50mm f/1.2 T* Planar lens on a canon 5dmkii. I love that lens, it's heavy, made of metal and glass, not plastic and creates some superbly sharp shots. I'm glad I took it with me on this trip and forced myself to use it and it alone the entire trip. It was challenging to create good shots as I am not used to using the lens.. but I am glad I got the practice in! It was especially challenging here with constantly moving subject.. focusing manually became a real challenge! Though I think my favourite out of this batch would have to be the fighting fish.. it came our real sharp, well exposed with very little distortion from the aquarium glass and some sweet sweet bokeh in the background!


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

Terrific photos. It is very difficult to choose a favorite as they all show the beauty of nature.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=fiftysixnorth
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-artis-aquarium-amsterdam


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

I happened to oove them too. Thanks for sharing @fiftysixnorth

joy to the fishies in the deep blue sea...

Thanks to @viking-ventures, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Thank you that's great! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64316.46
ETH 3170.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49