Temple of Dendur at the New York Met

in #photography6 years ago


20181009-IMG_7971.jpg

While in New York I made a point to visit the Met. I had only one goal in mind. One thing I wanted to see, that I even remotely cared about .. and that was the Temple of Dendur. I know nothing about it, only that they have an ENTIRE EGYPTIAN TEMPLE on display in a wing of the MET with a hug window next to it. I have seen pictures in the past and I straight away knew I wanted not only to see it for myself one day, but to also take a picture of it. Because it just looked so damn amazing!

Aesthetics aside, the Temple of Dendur was built by the Roman governor of Egypt, Petronius, around 15 BC, as one of many Egyptian temples commissioned by the emperor Augustus. It was dedicated to Isis and Osiris. I find that interesting in itself.. it gives you a bit of insight into the Roman Empire and what it was like.. many see it as a cruel occupying force that elevated its own citizens and trod upon the poor souls they conquered.. but in reality it was much more inclusive.

Recent discoveries in the UK (which have upset the racists quite a bit) show evidence that many romans.. or rather Roman Citizens, were also black. Of African origin and that their society was much more inclusive. I think this temple shows that as well. They ruled Egypt, but conquered lands were part of the Empire, and thus its people became Roman subjects, with rights.. and the Romans respected the local cultures.. why else commission and build temples to honour the Egyptian gods? There is so much we still don't know about the past..

Enough of this, here .. enjoy some more shots of the temple. I certainly enjoyed taking them!


20181009-IMG_7963.jpg


20181009-IMG_7965.jpg


20181009-IMG_7966.jpg


20181009-IMG_7967.jpg


20181009-IMG_7971.jpg


20181009-IMG_7974.jpg

At this point my battery was starting to run low and I was miles away from a spare battery (i don't have a spare). I needed to get back to the hotel to recharge, but happily I did still have enough juice to take some more shots in the Met and in Central Park on the way back to the hotel.. If I had another battery the pics of the Temple would not have ended here.. I would have subjected you to more!! :)


image
Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=fiftysixnorth
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=temple-of-dendur-at-the-new-york-met


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

an ENTIRE EGYPTIAN TEMPLE on display in a wing of the MET

OMG that is so cool! Wow. Thank you for the fabulous photos. I'm excited that you got to visit this!

Thanks :) Yes it was amazing. I loved it, I just wished I had more time to hang out there.. but we had a dinner date to get to :)

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #355.

Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60606.72
ETH 2910.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44