Silly Summer Portraits with a Fish Eye Lens

in #photography6 years ago

It is unseasonably hot in Scotland right now (26C). I know I know.. I can hear the laughter through the internet as I write this.. its not actually that hot in the grand scheme of things, but for the Scottish this is what they call "a scorcher".


20160625-IMG_3536 SMALL.jpg
* Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!*

This is the ideal opportunity to have a garden party or a backyard bbq. Its not every day we get the kind of weather that lets you enjoy some sunshine and cocktails in your backyard! As a photographer a party is a great opportunity for some portrait photography and in general just practicing your craft. It also helps that you are surrounded by friends who have been drinking and are therefore very happy to go along with your nonesense.


20160625-IMG_3574 SMALL.jpg
* Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!*

Case in point, you can easily get people to wear silly glasses and smile stupidly into the camera. For this party I decided to go a slightly different route from normal and took a fish eye lens with me instead of my usual 50mm lens for portraits. The results were rather amusing, and pretty good too..


20160625-IMG_3595 SMALL.jpg
* Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!*

Due to the ultra wide nature of the lens you have to get in reaaaaal close to your subjects. You practically have to have the lens touching their faces, which is why its handy to do this at a party and/or with friends. The results are a lot of fun though as it slightly distorts people's heads to an almost cartoon degree. I wouldn't use a fisheye for regular portrait work though as its really just a 'fun' lens. Well.. upon reflection I wouldn't out right dismiss it.. it certainly opens up more possibilities .. but it wouldn't work for serious portraits.. you know, like corporate shots or school photos.. that sort of thing..


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Nice man. Looks like a cracker of a party. It's sweltering down here in Lpool too! I have been um-ing and ah-ing about whether to get on my bike and ride to my local pub with a beer garden and your post has just tipped me over the edge ;-) It's beer-o-clock 🍺🍻

Nice one! I hope it was an enjoyable evening at the beer garden for you :) Sadly today the city is much cooler and covered in fog. But yesterday was good! :)

You must try closer (at minimum focus lenght possible) You will see your face really strange ! Do it and post it !

Thanks, I've done that before.. my face is strange enough without the fish eye effect though lol! :)

The results were rather amusing, and pretty good too

We tore up what institutions they had and then were surprised at what we unleashed. Civil war, religious fanaticism, thousands of Americans and just killed be lives, lives, lives wasted. Horribly wasted. Many trillions of dollars were lost as a result. The vacuum was created that ISIS would fill. Iran, too, would rush in and fill that void much to their really unjust enrichment.

Is this the Chewbacca defence? Because it makes no sense!

Lol! Sir Elton John would be jealous of all those glasses!

The heat index here is 105° just fyi. My glasses fog up when I go outside from being in the house with the AC on.

Well.. it was an Elton John themed party :) You probably saw the decorations in the background of the first shot.. See we don't have the fogging up problem so much here .. mainly because nobody in the country has air conditioning. Well... we have it in cars now .. but even back in the 90s I remember there not being AC in cars.
Having said that ... 26C is 78.8F so it sounds rather pathetic compared to the heat you are having... But then I do live north of the wall! Literally. Hadrian's wall, which the Romans built to defend england from the savages to the north. Its crazy how much game of thrones actually mirrors british history. ..sorry, got a little derailed there.

Ha! I actually didn't pay any attention to those pictures in the background, I just thought of him because of the glasses. I actually went to one of his concerts a few years ago, he put on a great show! I've been to dozens of concerts, everything from Ozzfest, Metallica, GNR and Kid Rock to Journey, Fleetwood mac and Hootie and the Blowfish. And Elton John was one of the most enjoyable. All the wacky weed smoke in the air may have had something to do with that though. But now that I think about it, there was green smoke at all the others too....hmmmm. 😱

lol! Yeah concerts are a fun atmosphere. I haven't been to many but I've seen Elton perform live before. He is quite a showman!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80