Long Exposure Light Trails on a Roundabout

in #photography6 years ago


20170319-IMG_5473.jpg

As my very clever and imaginative title suggests, this is a long exposure image I took too try and capture some light trails on a roundabout near the centre of town here in Edinburgh, Scotland.

As you can see, those pesky street lights threw down some serious lens flare issues which I was unable to resolve. I would love to shoot this place again but from a more elevated position. There is a cathedral behind me in this shot, but somehow I think they might frown on my climbing onto their roof for a better vantage point.

..I had considered a drone for a cool aerial shot but the paperwork is insane. The business case, the risk assessment, the permissions, appeals and applications.. just to legally fly in the city .. probably a week of paperwork for a 10 minute flight. Maybe if I was doing it commercially.. but I'm not.


image
Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem

Sort:  

It's still a cool shot even with the lights flare. I guess something you could do is take long exposure shot for the light trails and a short exposure shot for the lamps and somehow blend them together manual HDR-style? (I've never tried something like that myself, so I might be saying nonsense, let me know if that's the case)

hmmm.. interesting idea..you can do something like that, it might work but the blending process might be a lot of work... I might try a bigger lens hood first, that might help but as its a wide angle shot would give it a vignette... interesting, i might give it a try next time! :) thanks!

Looking forward to seeing your results. I don't think a vignette would look bad on that scene, it might actually be an OK effect. I've never done blending like that so I have no clue how much work it is but I can imagine it's not going to be just a little indeed.

Yeah i think it would take me some time to figure out how to do first :)

Sweet cap I especially like the flares and the round about wight the lights 🚦 circling around

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 17:44:00
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 74.07/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 17
Total contest wins: 1
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 15 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Congrats, you made 1st Place in my Photocontest. I´ve just send you some SBD.

That's awesome, thanks man :)

you´re welcome

This is awesome, I love these type of clever photos where you get car light trails - quite amazing. How long does it take to do a photo like this?
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Thanks mate, I do love light trails. They add a lot of life to a night scene... and they're fun to do ;) The amount of time can depend on the available light and how busy the traffic is, but its usually for me about 30 seconds. Sometimes a minute.

I love it, including the light flares. I still get fascinated by the light trails, how awesome!

Thanks, I feel the same way about light trails. I can't get enough of them! :)

another fabulous night shot such cool light trails

Thanks mate :)

most welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63956.43
ETH 3320.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92