Beltane Fire Festival Fail

in #photography6 years ago


20140430-IMG_5708 copy.jpg

I admit, the title is a little click-baity. It wasn't the fire festival that failed, but me. So this wild group in the shot above are performers and audience members at the beltane fire festival which happened last night. Unfortunately I wasn't there and this is a shot from a previous year where I was there. I have been sick a lot lately and unfortunately its caused me to have to cancel certain activities lately.


20140430-IMG_5753 copy.jpg

It's super frustrating when it happens. I haven't been to beltane in years and its always a great time. Last night in particular we probably had the best weather for the event in years. Its an outdoor performance/ritual/party/historical recreation so if it starts raining or something the whole thing continues .. while you get soaked or decide to duck out early and get slightly less soaked... So yeah, last night would have been good.


20140430-IMG_5773 copy.jpg

It's not the end of the world, its just a wonderful opportunity to get some cool photos and I was looking forward to that. There is always next year so i'll just have to be patient and hope that next year I am not so damn unlucky that I get sick again. Beltane is a great experience that happens every year in Edinburgh on the last night of april. If you ever find yourself in the city you should make the effort to go and see it.. provided you are cool with a bit of nudity..


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

I hope you feel better. That looks like a wonderful celebration! I love fire dancers... I've spun fire but not for a very long time. Beltane blessings to you. Health to your body, peace to your mind, and joy to your heart.

Thanks! I am slowly recovering.. actually made it in to the office today which is a good start :) Beltane blessings to you as well :) the celebration is great, there is so much positive energy there its wonderful.

I'm sorry you missed this year. Healing thoughts your way... You're so lucky to live where Beltane is celebrated! This looks like a great time! Feel better.

Thanks @artemisnorth. I am pretty lucky to be able to experience it every year. The other cool thing is that they do another one at halloween called samhuinn. I tend to work on halloween night so I often miss it but here the whole city turns into a halloween party in the streets.. here's a shot from many years ago when I didn't work halloween night:
20101031-IMG_4404.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48