The Dome inside the Royal Bank of Scotland Headquarters

in #photography6 years ago

bescouted_photo.jpg

Not every bank branch is so fancy, but considering this is the original branch and headquarters for the Royal Bank of Scotland (one of the 'too big to fail' banks) its hardly surprising that the building is beautiful on the inside. Not long ago they renovated the place to give new life to the dome. At the same time they overhauled the interior too. Mainly all the customer counters were removed and replaced with machines (you can see them on the right). With the advent of online banking and banking apps on our devices the need for human staff in branches is becoming less and less.

Recently RBS announced the closure of over 130 branches across Scotland (they'd already closed over a hundred a few years ago). Imagine the job loss. Times are changing and they are changing fast. More and more jobs are being automated. What happens when all jobs are computer controlled, automated or performed by robots? The sci fi series 'the expanse' shows a rather horrible possibility for Earth's future where there are not enough jobs to go around. People wait decades for their turn to learn and perform a job and live in poverty on government assistance while they wait.. sometimes their entire lives. Of course one could argue that the human mind is resilient and creative and that we will find new ways to earn a living. I think this is very true... the internet is a prime example of this, it has created a hold array of new occupations and ways of making money.


image
Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks @pixresteemer :)

Hi, do you also have an account on Weku and post your photography there?
There has be a lot of fake accounts popping stealing ID's from Steemit.

Hey, yes I do. I am on Weku, whaleshares and bearshares :) all under the same name. Thanks for your vigilance in checking.

Okay cool! Just making sure :)
There was a lot of those fakes lately. Better make sure. Thanks!

Absolutely.. better to be sure :) one of the reasons I made those accounts was so someone else couldn't steal it from me :)

Nice shot, but the perspective is really weird? Did you do something to it, I feel like that dome should be the top!

Ah no, I just used a really wide lens to get the ceiling in the frame like that :)

Ha ha, thanks! I thought my brain was screwing with me!

No your brain is in good working order :)

@fiftysixnorth Did you need special permission to shoot there? Or was it completely lax? Cool perspective and lens choice by the way 👍🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @ashtv :) I did not need special permission, I just walked in and took a quick snap :) I would not have been surprised if they had stopped me but no one did :)

That’s amazing. I’d have thought that if there’s one place you’d get stopped taking photos for security precautions; it is inside a BANK. Gorgeous building though, they probably see a fair few photographers in a day!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I know right? I was half expecting to get tackled by security .. but you are right.. after the renovations there were quite a few photographers and bloggers that were coming in to take pictures.. so i guess they expect it now :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75