Night Shot of a Park with a Dark History

in #photography6 years ago


20121104-IMG_2318.jpg

This weekend is going to be a very busy weekend.. thursdays and fridays are always very busy and leave me next to no time to think of .. let alone write up a post, which is why so often I only post a single image on those days, and as it happens, this weekend is my lady's birthday so it is unlikely I will get the rest of my current series about Singapore's Garden's by the Bay (that i started yesteday) written up until after the weekend. I will try, but my priority this weekend is the missus.

So in lieu of telling you all about the flower dome (which is the next topic) I am posting one of my favourite shots from a local park. This is a long exposure shot of the trees in a park called 'The Meadows' in the evening fog. The meadows is an interesting place. In good weather practically the whole city descends upon this place for picnics and impromptu BBQs, and in early summer its filled with students who've just finished their exams drinking hard to forget everything they've learned (the university campus is next to the park).

As with everything in Edinburgh, The Meadows has a dark past. Its a lovely park now, but many many years ago it was a loch (scottish for lake). Why is it not a lake anymore? Well when Edinburgh was hit by the plague so many residents died the city couldn't keep up with the number of bodies... and .. well they had to put them somewhere.. so one of the (many) places they dumped the bodies was in this loch. The story goes that they put so many in there they filled it up! Well it wasn't a loch anymore so they filled what was left with dirt... and turned it into a park.

Some people joke that when it rains hard and the ground becomes soft and muddy, human bones can poke out of the ground .. I have never experienced this myself so I am inclined to call bullshit on that one.


image
Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55