I USED TO BE HOMELESS - NOW I PHOTOGRAPH THEM.

in #photography7 years ago

Hello Everyone. I'd love to share some of my photos with you. Let me know what you think.
IMG_20161003_131320.jpg
I spent 2 years of my life homeless on-and-off. I knew many people who had it much worse than i did.. but i fully understood how hard it can be to simply survive in that situation. I got out.. got off drugs and now live a happy and healthy lifestyle. But i know that it is not possible, or as easy, for some people as it was for me. IMG_20160921_112226.jpg

Many photographers want to photograph the homeless, but cant. they lack the knowledge or insight into their lives to be able to see eye-to-eye with them. That is why my experience has allowed me to take these photos.

Some of the kindest and most interesting people you will ever meet are from the street, you'll also meet some of the worst around.
IMG_20161024_155305.jpg

I have many more photos in this series. And i'm always taking more shots of the urban environment and people. So follow me if you want to see more .

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fiatboycott to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

thanks! im not sure how to vote witnesses. but i think i've upvoted this... Still working out how to use this platform. I'll be posting more art and photography soon

@fiatboycott
Hey buddy, the replies from @originalworks and @minnowsupport are automated bots, they voted and replied because @cathi-xx asked them too.

So there is no need to vote them for witness unless you really like what they offer to Steemit.

btw I really like your photography so I gave you almost a third of my daily votes.

Welcome To Steemit!

Thanks for the support dude! I'm glad you like my work. i'll put up more stuff soon if you wanna see more. Anyway, still learning the ins and outs of how it all works. Cheers for the help. Peace!

Nice series and yes its good to know, i was also homelss once before, beacuse of bad choices in life, life is hard, this system is screwed up and so now inspiring people is my goal and just being expressive and showing love and understanding. Be well and steem on my friend ✌😊

Thanks man. I couldn't agree more. Its a vicious cycle , and no matter what choices people make, everyone deserves dignity and the opportunity to progress in life. it's important that people like you and i share our stories to show others that things are not as hopeless as they seem. I've come so far in two years and i want to keep this momentum and maybe one day reach even more people then just the ones i meet. I'm going to follow you as I'm interested in hearing more about your outlook on life. Peace

Edit: put '@originalworks' in the wrong place, trying again!

thanks! follow me and i'll be posting more photography and art.

I think everybody has there ups and some hardcore downs. The important thing is you never gave up and chose to change. Good luck in life and your work is very interesting. I followed, hope you do the same :)

thanks man! its all about taking it one day at a time. Following you now !

Follow @minnowpond and you'll get a vote from them every time you post.
Reply to your own posts with'@originalworks' and you'll get a vote from them.
Check out @minnowsupport and join their Discord server to find out how to get votes from them.

thanks for the advice cathi-xx. I'm now following @minnowpond and i'll look into discord tomorrow. Cheers!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cathi-xx from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Hey thanks guys! This is my first day on steemit. And it's great to have such a supportive community. I will check out PALnet. sounds like a cool project. I will be posting more original work soon!

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Nice love that 2nd shot of the dapper dude nice composition with that tile floor. Looks like he has the hump that you took the picture though. Resteemed and following

awsome man , thanks! to be honest when i took that shot i was kinda hiding behind this car. the second he looked at me like "what are you doing" i snapped a shot... don't think the picture bothered him. he looked pissed off in general.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63338.07
ETH 2589.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82